We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
130
54
16
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
54
16
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews youth hostel self catering kitchen drying room bunk beds games room bell tent family room locker space power sockets person room communal facilities camping area bus routes lands end top bunk worked fine main door
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2018

We have been going here every november for the last three years on our annual surf trip. The rooms are comfortable, clean and warm, great for familes, friends and even if your on your own.

The breakfast is amazing and will fule you for a hard days exploring. The facilities are brilliant with good wifi (sky), large plush lounge, drying room, pool tabel, fully equiped kitchen and a huge dining area. The bar is well stocked and evening dinner is available.

Plenty of parking is available and its really secure. The town is a short walk into town with lots of food options and lovely little bars - vist the admiral bembow is a must, even if you have just a cup of tea. All the normal shopping options are availabal ALL YEAR ROUND!

Its like staying in a grand hotel at a fith of the price. We wouldnt stay anywhere else in penzance.

The location is perfect for access to both north and south coasts, it has good bus and rail connection and the vibe is very relaxed.

Paul is an amazing manager, He is really approachable and has plenty of information and knowledge about the area as well as being incredibly accomodating. He is also in posetion of a wicked sense of humour!

We will be back next year!

Room tip: Dorms are single sex. Just ask if you want to move to another dorm or if you would prefer a quiter room.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DouglasK477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Douglas, have you ever considered a career in the Media. I think you could be good at it. This this a great review and it's all true of course! Thanks for this I will pass your comments onto the staff who were here during your stay. See you next year. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

I have stayed at this hostel many times and found the staff very friendly and helpful. It is usually good value for money midweek, but weekends can be expensive. The location is very good for walking to Penzance as there is a footpath opposite the drive, which leads to the road into town and only takes around 20 minutes.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Rogerfp2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Hello Rogerfp, thanks for your kind words regarding my lovely team. I was probably not working this day! Yes the weekends can be a bit more expensive or are the week days too cheap! there were some great discounts available in September and October when booked through us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

One of best YHA's I have been to. Great staff; clean and comfy rooms; toilets and showers clean; excellent location etc. Hostel was full when we arrived but we still had good access to shared space such as dining room and self catering kitchen.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you Karen it's a great review. Your comments will be much appreciated by my team. There are some great Youth Hostels in Cornwall some with even better views and facilities than us. Have you been to Perranporth yet? I hope to see you back here again after you have stayed in a few more Hostels in the network. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Fantastic Youth Hostel very clean, well run. Everything you could want as a backpacker. It is set in a lovely location. They have amenities for cooking, a games room, a drying room which is a must. Fresh towels for £2, toiletries if you run out.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank kerryblue2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Kerry, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. 'Set in a lovely location' Not everyone says that. I am glad you noticed all the trees and fields that surround the house. See you again soon? Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Stayed at YHA Penzance for 6 nights at the end of September. The hostel was busy with several large groups of German schoolchildren, full on several nights of my stay.The staff are friendly and well equipped to deal with all manner of queries. I got an excellent personalised map of Penzance marked with bus routes/nearest bus stops/local points of interest - very much appreciated. The room (room 5) had bunks with integrated power sockets and reading lamps. There wasn't enough locker space in the room for every guest, but more/larger lockers were available near the self-catering kitchen. It was (overly) warm in the room at night, but that's always a case of personal preference! A noisy fan or generator kicked in sometime between 06:30 and 07:00 every morning (I assumed it to be associated to the kitchen) which was a little annoying, but not too disruptive if you get up early.The kitchen was fairly well kitted out, and despite the number of guests fridge and shelf space was not a problem. The drying room was also reasonable, didn't use the laundry facilities. Showers and toilets were pleasant and clean, more facilities could be found upstairs.Wifi in communal areas was a bit patchy but the 4G coverage was fine.The hostel is easy to find from the town centre - up a long hill and across a 50mph road if on foot. Torch recommended if doing the journey in the dark.Definitely recommend a stay here, and hope to be back in the future!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank GreenGunpowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Hello and thank you very much for your helpful and comprehensive review. I have just taken a look at the lockers and they are the incorrect size for the room. I will get this addressed shortly so that everyone gets a large locker. The kitchen is next to room 5 and sadly we were busy with school children so the extractor fans have to go on to get the breakfast cooked. I hope this did not spoil your day too much. I hope to see you again but why not try the winter when a storm is coming. Beautiful waves! Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews