We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Easter getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
The Barn Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn Exterior
The Barn The Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The Barn Exterior
The Barn
The Barn
Seat area adjacent to the Barn
Dining room
Dining room
kitchen
Kitchen with door to the patio area
Living dining room
Living / Dining room
Living / Dining Room
Bedroom with view over lake
Bedroom
Views from the bedroom
Bedroom with space for additional single or cot
Bathroom
Wheal Grey Lake by the Barn
The gardens and the lake
Relax and enjoy the views
The Gardens
Praa Sands beach. Just 20 minutes walk or 5 minutes by car.
Summerhouse for guest use.
Exterior of summerhouse by Wheal Great Lake.
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Praa Sands, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Will C
1 review
“Easter getaway”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed over Easter weekend with Jonnie and Leslie. Wonderful barn and cottage with beautiful gardens and adjoining lake. Incredibly peaceful, walks on the door step and nice pubs / restaurants within walking distance. Recommend this place to anyone. The food basket on arrival was a welcomed touch too. wonderful stay - thanks for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the gardens
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadineand...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Private, quiet, perfect for couples”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Leslie warmly welcomed us on arrival and showed us the barn. When we were there the weather was very poor. The barn was perfect--we had plenty of space so didn't feel penned in a room as we would at a B&B.
The barn is clean, tastefully decorated and comes with pots/pans, cutlery etc so everything's there to eat in or out.
We ate at Ben's Cornish Kitchen and Kota in the evenings; both good recommendations from Leslie.
Would definitely return if coming back to this part of Cornwall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to hiBARNate!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Amazing 4 night getaway! The barn and surrounding gardens are just beautiful, the photos really don't do it justice. Everything we needed was provided in the barn for us, including a nice little welcome food package on our arrival. Couldn't fault the facilities, everything was spotless clean and our bedroom was like a little paradise. Leslie and Johnny were the perfect hosts, helped us when we needed (our first BBQ lesson!!) but also relaxed enough to let us come and go as we pleased. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we would definitely recommend this little gem.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolineb...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful location”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The hosts are a lovely couple and made us feel most welcome. The gardens are stunning. The Barn perfect for a couple. Weather was not the best but the location made up for this. Great restaurant recommended by Leslie in Porthleaven which was a great end to our stay.
I would definately recommend this to anyone and look forward to going back !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and gardens
Liked least: The bad weather !!!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location and great hospitality”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky to have lovely weather and made the most of eating and relaxing outside. The owners have provided many seating areas and sun loungers! The gardens are extensive and great for walking our two dogs around before heading off for the day. The Barn had everything we needed for the week and Leslie put the internet shopping we had ordered away for us so was all ready when we arrived. I would fully recommend staying here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing