We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great house in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandy Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mark h
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“great house in a great location”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

we stayed at Sandy Retreat for a week at the end of May 2015, 4 Adults and 3 children and was ample big enough, the house itself is very well equipped, and was immaculate upon arrival. we will be back again next year. i would absolutely recommend

we barely touched the surface of the surrounding area, Hastings and Rye are both very nice in different ways. If traveling with children the only thing i would be aware of is that generally the local pubs don't serve food until 6pm, which caused us a small issue, that said.
a brilliant family holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, it is very much appreciated. Sandy Retreat is perfect for families with young children as it has everything you need for a relaxing stay with the little ones. Look forward to seeing you again next year! Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great house, great location, great weekend”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Sandy Retreat for a long weekend with two children under five. The house was clean, fully equipped and beautifully furnished. It was the most family friendly place we have stayed and included step up stools, pushchair, plastic tableware and night lights. The house was spacious yet cosy and we enjoyed evenings in by the fire making use of the DVDs, free wifi and selection of games.

Camber beach was only a five minute walk away as were a small selection of beachside cafes and restaurants. The town of Rye was a 10 minute drive away and was good for exploring, it's variety of tea rooms and further choice of places to eat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of Sandy Retreat. The owners have tried to think of everything a young family would need for a relaxing holiday and will be thrilled with your comments. We hope you will come and stay again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick01728...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really relaxing break , and what a fabulous beach !!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here with our friends for a few days and found the property excellent, the decor was light and fresh and fully equiped , although all our party are retired so didn't make use of the wiii .Wi Fi was good and there was a useful guide to all the local attractions including the Green Owl pub which served great home cooked food .
We relaxed in the evenings on the decking and made use of the shiny bbq , local farm shop providing the burgers etc.We walked over the dunes most days to find a really lovely beach which is kept nice and clean and the Kit Kat Cafe provides the obligatory ' cup of tea '.
The beds were soft and comfortable and the bathrooms spotless and we liked the kitchen / diner in prference to lounge / diners which we have stayed in before , seems so much better to retire to the lounge after a hearty meal.

All in all a really relaxing stay with a great location, within walking distance of Rye , 5 miles ,which is great for antiques and a lovely church and castle .

Will definately be returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: house decor and equipment / fabulous beach !!
Liked least: nothing , apart from it raining one day !!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hp2493
Canterbury, Kent
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice house for a short stay, dependent on neighbours!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Sandy Retreat during the Easter holidays 2014. We were an adult group of two couples and a single. Overall, it's a nice house with most things you would need. It's nicely decorated and well cared for, and the location is great for the beach or a walk into Rye. The free wi-fi is very welcome and there's a useful pack of local information available.

We probably wouldn't return as it didn't quite suit our needs as well as expected and wasn't quite as described (see below - no large garden, no sleigh bed in bedroom 2, etc), but if this type of property is what you are looking for and you are a group of no more than four adults, it could be great.

The niggles:
- We asked for an inventory so we'd know what to pack but were not provided with one, so for anyone else staying: there is no teapot (!), no oven gloves, and no hand towels provided for the third bedroom. There is one loo roll per loo so if you're a larger group take some extra!
- The house had been cleaned but not *cleared* following the previous group's stay - there was half a bottle of random shower gel in the bathroom, half-empty packets of pasta in the kitchen cupboards, etc; which should have been removed. A bottle of wine and a cake had been left which was a nice touch, but no personal message and we would rather other people's food be removed than more left! The recycling bin had also been left full in the rear courtyard - in the wind it had blown over and the contents strewn across the yard which was rather unpleasant to arrive to and should have been emptied or secured.
- The board games etc are very tatty with pieces missing etc. Would be better to chuck altogether rather than having unusable things! One of the Wii handsets also didn't work (despite changing batteries etc) so no multiplayer games.
- The outside space is described as a "large garden" on the website, but it is actually a small courtyard, mostly gravelled. It needs some love - there are big pots with very dead plants! The weather wasn't great for sitting out when we were there, but if you're travelling with children there's very little outdoor playing space. On this point, the smallness of the yards means that your neighbours are VERY close, and if they have a small child and no manners (yes, people staying at number 5, I'm talking to you...), you will be woken up at 6.15am on a Sunday by a small child bouncing on her trampoline and screaming for Nana to come and play with her. Every word spoken in both adjoining gardens can be heard clearly due to the slatted fences. You have been warned.
- There is no shower in the main bathroom (there's a shower head, but no wall fixing - see pics), so anyone wanting a shower has to use the en-suite in bedroom one. Again, not great for a house that supposedly sleeps eight. In reality, it sleeps two adult couples, plus up to three small children, which could be made clearer in the information. The third bedroom is really not suitable for adults.

These factors mean we wouldn't go back as this group, but if you were a group of up to two couples with children, it could suit you very well. Just pack your loo roll!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor, wifi
Liked least: Noisy neighbours, lack of clearing from prev guests
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Firstly, thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that you found your stay to be 'nice' however, I am sorry to hear of your 'niggles' but also surprised as after my follow-up email to you after your holiday which was in in May and not Easter you replied.

Hello Richard,
Thanks for your message, we had a lovely (but windy!) stay at Sandy Retreat. It's a lovely house in a great location. The only thing missing was a teapot!
Kind regards,
******

In your email none of the points you have raised in your Trip Advisor review were mentioned besides the teapot situation which we have now remedied. I have also mentioned the oven-gloves having gone missing (they were certainly there previously) and to the Property Management company the hand towel for the third bedroom, which they have taken on board.

As above I really am sorry that there were aspects about Sandy Retreat that were not to your satisfaction and at this stage can only apologise for some of the points rather than right them for you, which we would of course have done during your stay should you have contacted the Property Management contact, whose details are provided for this very reason, they would happily have come and removed previous guests left over dry stores and supplied more toilet rolls, although for a 3 night stay the 3 rolls should have been ample for your needs.

We describe the garden as large as it is for the size of the property as you can see by the pictures in the advert. Regarding the state of the plants, being that you stayed at the beginning of May meant that its was early in the season before they put on their new growth as I am sure you would notice in any garden at that time of year.

The property in relation to other properties in White Sand and the slated fencing I am unable to rectify for you, however I would like to state that these aspects of the property are not hidden from potential guests, our property photographs clearly show the fencing and that there are other properties nearby, unfortunately, that one of the properties neighbouring Sandy Retreat had a young child staying on holiday, who liked to use a trampoline is out of our control.

Regards to the number of occupants, our website does state that the cottage has three bedrooms - the master and second both have double beds and the third bedroom is suitable for children with, 'with bunk beds and another single bed with pull out truckle bed'. The bunk beds are full size single beds which can be convert into bunk beds, only the truckle bed is slightly smaller but still ok for a small adult.

The main bathroom is described as having a shower fitting which it does have, albeit, this is not wall mounted however we do not describe it as such.

The board games have been added as extras and played with by guests, most of them are aimed at children occasionally bits go missing. We have asked the management company to go through the games and remove those that have missing items.

Much of your feedback - regarding the supplies, garden plants, recycling bin and board games has gone back to the owner to be put right for future bookings and we hope that your feedback and our reply has helped reassured both yourselves (as we hope you will come and stay again, even if it is not in the grouping of this stay) and future holiday makers that 'niggles' that you had during your stay have been taken on board and addressed to ensure they do not occur for future guests.

We are pleased that despite all the niggles you would recommend Sandy Retreat to a friend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molinko
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely house, in a great location”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent a week at Sandy Retreat over Easter with friends and our children, and can really recommend this lovely holiday home. It's perfectly equipped with everything you need including 2 pushchairs, so we didn't even pack ours!
Comfy beds, good water pressure in the shower, and a kitchen that had everything we needed to cook for 7 people.
The house location is ideal, Camber Sands is a fantastic beach. We particularly enjoyed kite flying and paddling. We packed a lot into our holiday but were always pleased to arrive back at this lovely house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing