We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beach bums for the weekend!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Half Moon Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clare H
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach bums for the weekend!”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Rented this cottage for our daughters 14th Birthday. Only an hour from where we live but wanted a complete change of surroundings. Beach short 5 minute walk away where we spent having fun on the dunes and in the water (dog included). Cottage itself is very well appointed and garden low maintenance (nautically themed). House immaculate and tastefully furnished. Lovely welcome pack when we arrived including locally made cake, cookies and milk in the fridge. Had a BBQ (gas type) Saturday night which was delicious and everything cooked to perfection. No shops appear to be within walking distance but I bought everything with us no worries there. All beds super comfy (including the sofa bed) so all in all a wonderful weekend!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireDam...
1 review
“Half moon cottage was perfect for our family weekend.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have a big family but half moon allowed for that. The cottage is beautifully furnished with everything you need for your stay. Even a stair gate and high chair were provided which made our stay a lot easier with my 18month old son.
We came to celebrate my dad's 70th birthday. Both my parents would agree that we had a weekend of luxury. They certainly enjoyed having an ensuite attached to the master bedroom.
I have to say though my favourite part of the cottage was the garden which was surprisingly spacious. The children loved playing out there.
Overall a fantastic place to stay which I would definitely use again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely, relaxing seaside cottage :-)”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Our spirits were lifted as soon as we walked through the door! Half Moon Cottage is perfectly furnished and decorated for that seaside/nautical feel. White Sands village as a whole is very 'sea-sidey' and charming, and Half Moon Cottage itself sits very well within this - it has a nice relaxed atmosphere - both light and airy but also very cosy in the evenings, when the lovely white shutters are closed at all of the windows.

The kitchen/dining room is a great sunny spot (if you have the weather!) to sit and have breakfast overlooking the large private garden before going a walk on the long sandy beach, only 5 minutes away over the dunes. We soon discovered the cottage contains everything you could possibly want on a holiday - from board games, DVDs and plenty of books for those rainy days, to a hammock and barbecue in the garden for the sunny ones. Plus it's always good to have wifi! It was also great to have a family bathroom, en suite for the master bedroom and a downstairs cloakroom.

There was plenty to do in the area, with the picturesque town of Rye only a short drive away. Here we found lots of restaurants, cafes (we loved Edith's House and their resident French Bulldog) and antique shops for pottering. We also visited nearby Dungeness, which has a wonderful surreal atmosphere, and a long shingle beach - bleak and weird for brisk winter walks!

We cannot recommend Half Moon Cottage enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The way the property had been furnished/decorated
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillydUk
UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely homely house, dog friendly and close to beach”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a lovely stay here over New Year. The weather was mostly foul but the house was warm, comfortable and well equipped. The beach is a five minute walk away and once the tide is out you can walk for miles on the sand. Our dog loved chasing for a ball for hours! We visited the Green Owl pub which is very friendly and does good food. The surrounding area is beautiful, Rye is nearby which has many pubs and restaurants, although we didn't have time to visit any. We did visit the Queens Head in Icklesham, about twenty minutes away, which we would recommend. Altogether we would thoroughly recommend this house and area to families, especially those with dogs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma551
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect, relaxed winter weekend away in a lovely, clean, well-furnished cottage”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

My husband and I stayed in Half Moon Cottage, Camber Sands for a weekend in December.
The cottage itself was perfect: comfortable, warm and homely and had everything we needed. Its location was ideal for the beach - just across the road - which was great for our early morning run/walk - probably the best way to use the beach in December! The drive to Rye takes 5 minutes and we spent a very happy afternoon wandering in and out of the many independent shops followed by a well deserved (we thought) cream tea! We ate a wonderful dinner at The Beach Bistro - 5 min walk - and stumbled back in the cold to the welcome warmth of the cottage. I would highly recommend Half Moon Cottage and fully intend to return with my kids to try out the summer version!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing