We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend away!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Driftwood

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew M
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great weekend away!”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I booked Driftwood for a weekend away for my husbands birthday. We arrived to find a bottle of prosecco, a bottle of apple juice, and some biscuits and cake awaiting us along with a postcard from the owners welcoming us which was a lovely touch. The house was beautifully presented with very comfy beds, and living spaces. Driftwood was nice a close to the beach and is within walking distance of the eatery's (there are only a few!). The weekend was lovely and relaxing and would definitely stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for this lovely review. Really pleased you guys had a great weekend and hope to see you back again.
Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melv500
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad”
Reviewed 2 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My Wife and 3 children (4, 1 and 6 weeks) stayed at Driftwood over the weekend at the end of November. We paid around £170 a night which is high for low season however the house looked nice and we decided to book. Overall the condition of the house and facilities is pretty good although a spruce up and a lick of paint is needed.

A pleasant journey down from London we arrived at the property which is situated in a pleasant new housing development as you enter Camber. Driftwood itself is tucked away in a nice secluded corner with good parking. We entered the house and it was exactly as described. It was cleaned to a satisfactory standard and the pics definitely do the house justice. We had a good look around and they do provide all the basic equipment needed especially in the kitchen so cooking was pretty easy. As mentioned the price was high was high so we were expecting the electric appliance to be higher spec. The oven wasn’t at all powerful and the hob is electric and heats inconsistently. I am nit picking slightly however I think the price should justify better appliances. The table was lovely and plenty of seating. Mats and coaster provided and it was beautifully lit. The lounge is a good size and the sofas comfortable although a little worn. There was beanbags for the kids which was great and they enjoyed them. A modern smart TV which was nice however let down by painfully slow Freeview. There is a DVD player with a selection of films which was really good to pass the time in the evening. A Bluetooth speaker is provided however is tiny so not adequate for a medium/large sized room .Ironically though the only high end brand piece if equipment in the house.

We only used the two large bedroom as our baby slept with us in our room. They are a good size and the ensuite was good with decent power in the shower. The master bedroom bed is only a double which is disappointing given there is so much room for a bigger bed however we were just about comfortable enough. The TV did have a DVD player but the aerial didn’t work which was annoying as we like to watch the news in the mornings as we get ready. The bunk bed although a bit rickety was great fun for the kids and they said it was really comfy. Plenty of towels (and I mean plenty) are provided and the bedding although old kept us warm. Again I would have hoped for better quality bedding given the price we paid.

We were charged a mandatory £60 cleaning fee which was ok as it saves us doing it and you know the house should get a thorough clean. We did leave a bit of mud on the carpet and spilled some water on the sofa before we left. We emptied the bins, cleaned all the dishes, reused towels and left the house in a good state. Sadly the owner without any communication what so ever with us decided to leave a terrible review for us on Airbnb saying we stained the sofa (which was water) and ruined the carpet. Obviously we were very distraught he would be so trigger happy without the common decency to at least speak to us first. We have since contacted the owner 3 times via text to try and resolve the issues diplomatically. We have even offered to pay for the damage if indeed it is genuine. We have been completely ignore and given we are offering to pay I think that shows his claim were vastly over exaggerate. Bearing that in mind I would be mindful of taking small children as the owner is extremely intolerant to any small accidents despite charging a healthy upfront fee to clean it up. Overall though the house was pleasant enough however I was left a little underwhelmed given the price we paid.

Just a note on the area. I spent a few years living nearby in a village called Westfield so had a god idea of what Camber was like. There isn’t too much to do apart from a couple of local shops and restaurants/pubs. We didn’t go into Camber really as it’s a pretty drab and tired town but like I say I knew what I was in for. We only headed in to use the 3 stores for groceries. They have all the basics but as no competition from the major supermarkets they charge very inflated prices for budget products. Also if any Wine drinkers out there maybe bring your own as the selection is very low quality in all 3 stores (I checked them all personally). The beach though it has to be said is STUNNING. Despite being late November we had a beautiful walk along it and the kids had great fun paddling. The beach Café was open so it was nice to get a warm drink after. I would highly recommend travelling around 4 miles up the road to Rye. It a beautiful and conserved historic town with wonderful historic architecture. There is an eclectic selection of shops which keep you entertained even if not buying anything. Also a seemingly never ending selection of traditional pubs with great menus and selection drinks. Lastly if you are a golfer and are lucky enough to play Rye Golf Club then I cannot recommend it enough. A breath takingly wonderful course steeped in tradition. Some very challenging holes so not for the feint hearted. Its notoriously hard to get a tee time so try to email the Club Secretary in advance and cross your fingers!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable house
Liked least: Over priced for the qualtiy of furnishings and equipment,
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cnev1984
1 review
“Beautiful clean 5* house.”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Family with 2 small children, house was perfect for us. Like home from home, with everything you need from a garden, bats and balls for kids, washing machine etc. Decorated very nice, with very comfy beds and so much space! Great location, could walk to the beach (we drove) only 10 minutes into rye which is a lovely town, some nice restaurants and crafty shops.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for posting this review of your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBMholls
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Well we have stayed in many holiday homes but this was one of the best. So often there are things missing, but not here......oh except an ice tray! The only reason that was needed was that we had picked the hottest week, yippy! The house was so clean even though it takes dogs. We often find these houses are less clean, as if having a Dog makes you less bothered...NO!
Richard was there for a short while when we arrived to see we were all o.k and let us know he was only a call away if we needed anything. So often this part of OUR holiday is taken up with showing us things like ......the cooker.....the bedrooms....etc why? I think we can work this one out! Plus everything has an instruction manual, if im told how to work it after just arriving i will forget any how, and its taking up our holiday, so this made a pleasant change.There was milk juice tea coffee etc all we needed,but best of all a lovely chocolate cake yummy! The whole experience from booking to staying with Beside the Sea Holidays was good. The beach is just over the road and amazing. All in All if you want a good holiday in a nice house and in a great area ( with very dog friendly child friendly pubs and people) look no more. Rye is so lovely and only 15 mins or so up the road. As i said its JUST LOVELY! Thank you Richard & Sophie will see you again. Xxx

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this lovely review, it was great to meet you. The chocolate cake is just what you need after a long drive and you soon burn it off after a walk up the dunes! We look forward to having back beside the sea very soon! Richard, Sophie Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haleyhatc...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house and close to the beautiful beach”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful holiday with parents (oaps) teenagers and the dog. The house is very clean, modern and plenty of room for space away from everyone. Wifi is handy for the kids and the tvs in the bedrooms are a bonus. The whole estate was extremely quiet while we were there. Richard and Sophie made us feel very welcome on arrival. The beds were very comfortable too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quietness of the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
Thank you for your review, we're really pleased you enjoyed your holiday and agree that it is a great house for a family getaway, offering all the family the space and functionality that make a great stay. We hope you come and stay again and will look forward to welcoming you all back! Sophie & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing