We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Respite for sister”

Review of Marsh View Cottage

The beach is just a short stroll from Marsh View Cottage in Camber Sands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach is just a short stroll from Marsh View Cottage in Camber Sands
The dunes and beach a short walk from Marsh View Cottage, Camber Sands A vast sandy beach on the doorstep
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
The beach is just a short stroll from Marsh View Cottage in Camber Sands
The dunes and beach a short walk from Marsh View Cottage, Camber Sands
A vast sandy beach on the doorstep
The vast sandy beach a short walk from Marsh View Cottage, Camber Sands
Marsh View Cottage, Camber Sands backs directly onto the SSSI protected marshes
The well equipped open plan kitchen has views across the sheep studded marshes.Separate utility area
The master bedroom - bath robes,slippers,mini toiletries included
The twin bedroom has uninterrupted views over the sheep studded Romney Marshes
Family bathroom with shower over
In the master bedroom there are fluffy bath towels,bath robes, slippers and mini sea kelp toiletries
Garden views - & the sand dunes & beach are only a short stroll away to the front
One of our welcome baskets. Contents vary
The chocolate box pretty,ancient town of Rye just 3 miles from Marsh View Cottage,Camber Sands
The picturesque, ancient town of Rye, 3 miles away, is steeped in history
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tidoo34
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Respite for sister ”
Reviewed 18 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Booked the cottage for a week for my sister who has learning disabilities to give her a bit of respite and change of scenery.
After tackling the m25 (horrendous) we arrived at the cottage, heating had been left on so it was nice and toasty when we arrived. First impressions lovely cosy,clean cottage and it was nicely decorated for xmas which was nice. Views of the fields are lovely especially in the morning when the sheep are right by the back gate and you can see them from kitchen window. The hamper left by the owners was lovely and went down a treat, especially the wine . The bedrooms were nice and comfy. Loved the extra touches with the dressing gowns/slippers and toiletries which came in handy.
DVD collection is amazing, think we got through most of them as some days my sister refused to go out and just wanted to watch DVDs all day !
Not many people around at this time of year so it was very quiet.
We had a walk on the beach which was quiet and empty this time of year. Also went into Rye town which isn't too far, its a lovely little town but not very wheelchair friendly, hard work trying to push it around the narrow pavements and streets.
Viaited the salt farm shop which isn't to far from the cottage,they do lots of homemade cakes/biscuits etc they also do some very nice GIN,so i treated myself to a few bottles .
Would definitely recommend a stay at the cottage, everything you need is provided for by the owners, shops and pubs are not far away. If we came again we would cone in summer when it is more lively and warmer so we can get out and about more. Thank you Tony and Sue for sharing your beautiful cottage with us and hopefully we will be back in the future xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
Thank you very much for a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Fortunately the motorway is not usually so bad and most guests travel problem free. As it was mid December it could have been Christmas shoppers causing the extra traffic.
We are pleased you enjoyed all the extras we provide for our guests too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allislynd...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply one of the Best .”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My husband & I enjoyed a wonderful week at Marsh View Cottage,to celebrate his 65th Birthday.The cottage was absolutely everything it says on the website & more,it was immaculately clean the welcome pack was full of local goodies far beyond our expectations (including the wine ,butter & milk in the fridge)& Sue & Tony had very kindly organised for a Birthday cake to be there on our arrival ,even taking the time to find out my husbands interests so that the cake could be decorated accordingly.The Cottage is warm & cosy with everything we could possibly need for a self catering stay .It was lovely to see the different weather across the Marsh & watch all the birds .Camber Sands is a beautiful beach,just a few minutes walk away & we enjoyed fantastic sunsets from the Dunes .There are plenty of places to eat nearby,so if you didn't feel like driving ,you could just leave your car at the cottage & enjoy a nice meal out. I don't think in our many many stays in different Holiday lets,that we have ever felt so welcomed & looked after!!!5star for sure .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Marsh View Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laceykitt...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous week in Camber!”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

After an awful journey filled with traffic jams we arrived to the beautiful Marsh View Cottage and instantly felt at home!

From the lovely welcome basket, to the extensive DVD collection, everything had been well thought out to ensure we had everything we could possibly need. We brought throws with us to put on the sofas as our dog Molly is rather pampered at home so wouldn't understand why she couldn't sit with us!!

We visited Rye many times and the beach at Camber every day. The dog-friendly parts of the beach were well signposted and Molly enjoyed her first ever experience of sand and sea!

Sue and Tony's list of restaurants was great and we visited many, including The King's Head, Dunes Bar & Restaurant, Simply Italian and The Ship Inn....to name a few! All were dog and child friendly and we had some great food.

The cottage is simply immaculate and is so well decorated and furnished......I came home wanting Egyptian cotton bedding!!!

Hopefully we'll be back some time!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Marsh View Cottage and found our restaurants list useful.
Sorry the motorway had traffic jams. I think it was a particularly popular ''changeover'' day for the August school summer holidays which probably caused extra traffic. This is not usually the case and our guests usually arrive without traffic problems en route.
We are delighted you also enjoyed the extras we provide to make our guests stay an enjoyable and relaxing experience. We hope you come back again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indycat20...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Marsh View" is a nature lover's luxurious retreat backed by the magical marsh itself!”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were so impressed with the quality and organisation of the accommodation; its cleanliness, extras and the extent of all the equipment and facilities included- truly a home from home making Marsh View the best holiday cottage we have ever booked.

We were also rather overwhelmed with your far too generous welcome pack of locally sourced food which meant we didn't have to shop at all for our stay, bar lunch and dinners! The local Lamberhurst apple juice in particular was very good and we're still working our way through the cakes... Like everyone else, we would definitely recommend Marino's Fish and Chips in Rye, though it may be worth ordering a little in advance as they get really busy!

We had a wonderful, if too brief holiday and enjoyed visiting some of the marsh churches as well as the beautiful Camber Sands beach, local villages and the other marsh reserve areas including Dungeness, as well as Bodiam Castle, Sissinghurst Castle and Gardens and Bateman's en route.

But for us the real star was the marsh itself with its birds, bats, butterflies, wildflowers, frogs and of course the Romney Kent sheep themselves.

We hope to revisit this surprisingly quiet corner of south east England soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The cottage didn't disappoint ... furnished to a high standard including fluffy towels and good quality bedding plus spotlessly clean and everything you could possibly need. The welcome hamper was filled with lots of yummy goodies including a little something for Thomas (our dog). It's so lovely to find a little place like this in a beautiful location that's worth every penny we've spent. Really wish we weren't coming home! Will be checking availability when we get home to plan our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing