We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local beach institution”
Review of Surf Shack Eatery

Surf Shack Eatery
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Waihi Beach
Price range: $5 - $30
Description: We have an eclectic menu offering everything and amazing salads to delicious street food inspired by the tastes of the world, including great Vegan/Vege options. We are very proud to represent everything NZ has to offer and stock a wide range of NZ products. This has been our ethos from the outset and the concept is evolving all the time. We follow a Kiwi Back ideology and a beachy feel with funky outside seating spaces. We pride ourselves on sustainability and try and improve where possible using locally sourced products. We are fully licensed and have some great NZ craft beer & cider to offer as well as some amazing NZ wine. Serving the unbeatable Mojo Coffee all the way from Pips home, Wellington, as well as other refreshing drinks such as our famous iced chocolates & coffees all topped with a cheeky donut. Please come, chill & relax, it's beach time!! Well-behaved pets are more than welcome:)
Restaurant details
Description: We have an eclectic menu offering everything and amazing salads to delicious street food inspired by the tastes of the world, including great Vegan/Vege options. We are very proud to represent everything NZ has to offer and stock a wide range of NZ products. This has been our ethos from the outset and the concept is evolving all the time. We follow a Kiwi Back ideology and a beachy feel with funky outside seating spaces. We pride ourselves on sustainability and try and improve where possible using locally sourced products. We are fully licensed and have some great NZ craft beer & cider to offer as well as some amazing NZ wine. Serving the unbeatable Mojo Coffee all the way from Pips home, Wellington, as well as other refreshing drinks such as our famous iced chocolates & coffees all topped with a cheeky donut. Please come, chill & relax, it's beach time!! Well-behaved pets are more than welcome:)
Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

The Surf Shack is the place for a post-beach coffee and meal, with dog-friendly tables and very generous and delicious food.
We believe it is a local beach visit institution.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank robsT9648IO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2024

Posh french toast and big brekky.
Both excellent.
Lovely atmosphere and Staff.
Would go again next time were down this way

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2024

Great coffee. Warm friendly service (leaves Flat white for dead) and good food. They were extremely busy when we arrived but comms around timings were accurate.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rogermM5306SI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024

OMGoodness! I wanted to eat my meal quickly because it was so delicious, but also wanted it to last longer so I could really savour it. I had Posh French Toast .... YUMmmmm.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathrine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

The place was full when we first arrived but managed to snag a table. We placed our order and were warned it was a 45 min wait for food. Some excellent coffees tied us over - coffee here way better than all other places we tried in the area.
The bacon butty was lovely. The pancakes were excellent - maybe too much ice cream? I can’t believe I said that. The ultimate toastie was a big hit. The Kiwi breakfast was filling and well cooked.
All in all, a great meal. Fresh ingredients, well prepared and well seasoned.
If you are in the area, make the time. I wish they were open for dinner because I wanted to try their quesadilla and their burger.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Immunoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Surf Shack Eatery also viewed

Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Surf Shack Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.