We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Birthday Breakfast Ever”
Review of Surf Shack Eatery

Surf Shack Eatery
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Waihi Beach
Price range: $5 - $30
Description: We have an eclectic menu offering everything and amazing salads to delicious street food inspired by the tastes of the world, including great Vegan/Vege options. We are very proud to represent everything NZ has to offer and stock a wide range of NZ products. This has been our ethos from the outset and the concept is evolving all the time. We follow a Kiwi Back ideology and a beachy feel with funky outside seating spaces. We pride ourselves on sustainability and try and improve where possible using locally sourced products. We are fully licensed and have some great NZ craft beer & cider to offer as well as some amazing NZ wine. Serving the unbeatable Mojo Coffee all the way from Pips home, Wellington, as well as other refreshing drinks such as our famous iced chocolates & coffees all topped with a cheeky donut. Please come, chill & relax, it's beach time!! Well-behaved pets are more than welcome:)
Restaurant details
Description: We have an eclectic menu offering everything and amazing salads to delicious street food inspired by the tastes of the world, including great Vegan/Vege options. We are very proud to represent everything NZ has to offer and stock a wide range of NZ products. This has been our ethos from the outset and the concept is evolving all the time. We follow a Kiwi Back ideology and a beachy feel with funky outside seating spaces. We pride ourselves on sustainability and try and improve where possible using locally sourced products. We are fully licensed and have some great NZ craft beer & cider to offer as well as some amazing NZ wine. Serving the unbeatable Mojo Coffee all the way from Pips home, Wellington, as well as other refreshing drinks such as our famous iced chocolates & coffees all topped with a cheeky donut. Please come, chill & relax, it's beach time!! Well-behaved pets are more than welcome:)
Reviewed 24 November 2023

Went for the first time for breakfast & it was so good we went back the next day for my birthday breakfast. Really friendly & attentive staff, delicious food & excellent value for money. Loved that dogs were welcome & the dog loved her complementary bag of sausage. The owner Jo made us so welcome. Highly recommend this quirky, kiwi venue.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

This eatery never disappoints! We go every time we are up this end of BOP. Just an awesome experience with lovely unpretentious staff, super dog friendly and to top that, the food is just the best.

We recommend the Surf Shack yo anyone we know heading up to the area....we can't wait for our next visit.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank GloriousGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2023 via mobile

We visited during school holidays and the place had a nice gummy vibe. We have been before but I reckon it was around covid. Brilliant menu and after the poor quality food at outrageous prices we were hoping to strike gold from reading the reviews in the area!

We were not disappointed, great service, great choice of drinks especially the Koa Kombucca and Pete sodas. The food was spectacularly presented and plenty of it. I didn't feel ripped off when we paid a modest bill for what we received.

Date of visit: September 2023
1  Thank Voyage65914988587
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2023

I read the reviews for the Waihi area and this one hands down had consistently great feedback! When we rocked up I was a little tentative as it was nothing like what I was expecting - a cafe on the end of a factory building in the middle of nowhere, or so it seemed. It was the amount of cars in the car park for a week day at the beach that made me go in!

I am so glad I did ! The service was so friendly and Jo was awesome as front of house - she explained everything and gave us a nice outside bar leaner with the coolest cow hide bar stools! '

All I can say was what a menu ..... We found it hard to choose but in the end we ordered miso mushrooms and definitely the best burger I have ever eaten (and that is a fair few)

We will be back with bells on!! Thanks Team

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dreamer53040935142
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2023

We’ve been coming to the Surf Shack for a couple years and without fail it’s always super delicious, beautifully presented and the folks behind the counter are wonderful. If you’re looking for a spot to grab brunch or a coffee, you’ll be hard pressed to find somewhere with better variety and presentation. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TerribleTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Surf Shack Eatery also viewed

Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Surf Shack Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.