We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Interesting Options”
Review of Surf Shack Eatery

Surf Shack Eatery
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Waihi Beach
Price range: $5 - $30
Description: We have an eclectic menu offering everything and amazing salads to delicious street food inspired by the tastes of the world, including great Vegan/Vege options. We are very proud to represent everything NZ has to offer and stock a wide range of NZ products. This has been our ethos from the outset and the concept is evolving all the time. We follow a Kiwi Back ideology and a beachy feel with funky outside seating spaces. We pride ourselves on sustainability and try and improve where possible using locally sourced products. We are fully licensed and have some great NZ craft beer & cider to offer as well as some amazing NZ wine. Serving the unbeatable Mojo Coffee all the way from Pips home, Wellington, as well as other refreshing drinks such as our famous iced chocolates & coffees all topped with a cheeky donut. Please come, chill & relax, it's beach time!! Well-behaved pets are more than welcome:)
Restaurant details
Description: We have an eclectic menu offering everything and amazing salads to delicious street food inspired by the tastes of the world, including great Vegan/Vege options. We are very proud to represent everything NZ has to offer and stock a wide range of NZ products. This has been our ethos from the outset and the concept is evolving all the time. We follow a Kiwi Back ideology and a beachy feel with funky outside seating spaces. We pride ourselves on sustainability and try and improve where possible using locally sourced products. We are fully licensed and have some great NZ craft beer & cider to offer as well as some amazing NZ wine. Serving the unbeatable Mojo Coffee all the way from Pips home, Wellington, as well as other refreshing drinks such as our famous iced chocolates & coffees all topped with a cheeky donut. Please come, chill & relax, it's beach time!! Well-behaved pets are more than welcome:)
Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

Had lunch here today pulled in by the TA reviews we had read. The place was packed and a little hectic but we were able to grab a table inside - a good option as several groups made their way inside when tables became available due to the wind chill.

Looked to be some interesting options on the menu so took a while to decide. Not a lot of room to queue up at the counter to place your order further complicated by staff having to cut through to use the door to the outside seating - all a little awkward for all.

Service was friendly enough and the Frisky Philly (a take on a Philly cheese steak) I decided on was very tasty. Hubby's scrambled eggs portion was a little on the small side even though he opted for the 3 egg option but otherwise ok.

Would try it again if in the area.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Kiwidreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
642pippac, Owner at Surf Shack Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Hi Kiwidreamer,

Thanks for the review and I am afraid it was extremely busy with the inside bursting due to the weather. It is such a small inside space that unfortunately when it gets as busy as it did we are all rushing around here and there . Thankfully our outside space has nearly been finished to combat the issues with the wind but as with everything Covid 19 has slowed up something that should have been in place pre winter.

I am glad you enjoyed the food and service and hope to see you again.

Thanks

Jo Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2020 via mobile

Amazing food, great staff, awesome venue, new favourite lunch spot, cannot fault this place, nice indoor and outdoor seating aswell

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank shanoskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
642pippac, Owner at Surf Shack Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Hi Lanz,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and hope to see you again soon.

Cheers

Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2020 via mobile

Been a few times and as a vegan have had sooo many options to choose from! Food is amazing and the staff are awesome and very helpful!!

Date of visit: July 2020
1  Thank chelseageorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
642pippac, Owner at Surf Shack Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Hi Chelsea,

Thanks for reviewing us on the vegan food as we do try to push the boundaries and make the vegan options more exciting then most places. Glad you had a great experience and hope to see you back soon. Cheers Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2020 via mobile

Hands down the best vegan burger I've had in my life. So many vegan choices too- will definitely be back! :)

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank debboy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
642pippac, Owner at Surf Shack Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Kia Ora debboy03,

We have been getting some great feedback about the vegan options on the menu and are very thankfully that you have reviewed these as we like to open up our choices to everyone. I really hope we see you soon.

Thanks Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2020 via mobile

As per usual, this place never lets us down! My only issue is that I can never decide what to eat because it’s all fantastic!

The menu is extensive and caters to anything you may feel like eating and an array of prices and sizes to suit your appetite. They are also most accommodating to any meal amendments and have a variety of options for different dietary requirements.

It is dog and family friendly and although during peak times there may be a wait, it is 100% worth the wait!

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank foodjunkiez2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KiaOra31, Owner at Surf Shack Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Hey Foodjunkie,

A great review thank you very much for all the feedback! No pressure now being the hands down best place at Waihi Beach! Best keep up to that and ensure other customers have the same experience. We do like to look after customers with their individual dietry requirements and Pip is usually on hand to assist. Cheers Jo Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surf Shack Eatery also viewed

Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Surf Shack Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.