We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and a Selection to suit all Tastes”
Review of Surf Shack Eatery

Surf Shack Eatery
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Waihi Beach
Price range: $5 - $30
Description: We have an eclectic menu offering everything and amazing salads to delicious street food inspired by the tastes of the world, including great Vegan/Vege options. We are very proud to represent everything NZ has to offer and stock a wide range of NZ products. This has been our ethos from the outset and the concept is evolving all the time. We follow a Kiwi Back ideology and a beachy feel with funky outside seating spaces. We pride ourselves on sustainability and try and improve where possible using locally sourced products. We are fully licensed and have some great NZ craft beer & cider to offer as well as some amazing NZ wine. Serving the unbeatable Mojo Coffee all the way from Pips home, Wellington, as well as other refreshing drinks such as our famous iced chocolates & coffees all topped with a cheeky donut. Please come, chill & relax, it's beach time!! Well-behaved pets are more than welcome:)
Restaurant details
Description: We have an eclectic menu offering everything and amazing salads to delicious street food inspired by the tastes of the world, including great Vegan/Vege options. We are very proud to represent everything NZ has to offer and stock a wide range of NZ products. This has been our ethos from the outset and the concept is evolving all the time. We follow a Kiwi Back ideology and a beachy feel with funky outside seating spaces. We pride ourselves on sustainability and try and improve where possible using locally sourced products. We are fully licensed and have some great NZ craft beer & cider to offer as well as some amazing NZ wine. Serving the unbeatable Mojo Coffee all the way from Pips home, Wellington, as well as other refreshing drinks such as our famous iced chocolates & coffees all topped with a cheeky donut. Please come, chill & relax, it's beach time!! Well-behaved pets are more than welcome:)
Reviewed 15 March 2020

We went there again today for brunch. The staff are always the same so pleasant and friendly. I had the Asian Fusion Bao buns and my friend the Hash Stack with Salmon. Both dishes more than met our expections. Allow time, as they being so popular are busy but well worth the wait and the coffee and milkshakes we had while waiting were excellent.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank raewynstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KiaOra31, Owner at Surf Shack Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Hi raewynstravels,

Thanks for taking the time to review us, I'm glad you found the staff to be friendly as we do like customers to have a good experience. Its also great that food met your expectations as it is hard to please everyone with the flavour combinations in our fusion food. We do unfortunately get busy & getting the drinks out first usually helps. Hope to see you again. Thanks Jo Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2020

This is a must-dine place in Waihi Beach.
The shack itself is modern and beachy and very in theme for the area. They have an indoor and outdoor area and coverage for bad weather outside too.
The food is DELICIOUS. It looks amazing, it IS amazing. And the owners are very hands on and friendly.
Be warned though - the servings are generous, so be careful not to over-order!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jay-Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KiaOra31, Owner at Surf Shack Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Hi Jay Jay,

Look at you reviewing all the places you stayed or went to, such a lovely & time consuming thing to do! It was our utter pleasure to host you and a huge thanks for taking the time out to review us as the nation has grown up with you on the radio and respects your opinion. Love the fact you liked the food and yes portions are generous but I hate to see hungry customers walk away. Have a good one thanks Pip & Jo Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Friendly service providing a delicious menu.One of our favourites is the scallop and bacon salad. Absolutely scrumptious.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank mikeandannelouisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KiaOra31, Owner at Surf Shack Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Hi Mike & Louisee,

I think you two have made your way through the menu and the names gave it away ;) Thanks both for taking the time out to review us and see you soon. Cheers Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

Yesterday I had goats cheese filo pastry for lunch with a salad and it was absolutely divine! So many different wonderful tastes., nuts, seeds etc. and everything went so well together...
I usually have blueberry pancake with walnuts, ice-cream and cream; decided to go out of my comfort zone and had this most unexpected yummy experience!
Service is always lovely and despite being told the waiting time would be 30 min it was faster then that, so thank you very much surfshack team, kudos for all of you.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Almaspijker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KiaOra31, Owner at Surf Shack Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Hi Alma,

I have to admit your choice was impeccable as the goats cheese filo salad is by fa my favorite, I am glad you enjoyed all the flavour combinations . We do like to give a wait time to all customers as I certainly dont like to sit there and wonder where my food is and its always a bonus when it comes out earlier than expected. Thanks for all the feedback it really is appreciated. Cheers Jo Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

The Surf Shack really goes above & beyond with their vegan options. Amazing vegan big breakfast with way more than the usual items in most (it's one of the best vegan brekkie's I've had in the Bay of Plenty). They also have vegan burgers, quesadillas,delicious vegan slices (the ginger one is a personal fave) and amazing coffee. Topped off with friendly staff and an amazing location. Would highly recommend a visit to any vegan/vegetarian/meat eater!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Jessmills92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KiaOra31, Owner at Surf Shack Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Woo Hoo Jess Mills,

Thanks for a cracking review and we are so glad you like the Vegan options and that they are tasty :) We like to be able to provide a good customer service although sometimes its hard to speak individually to customers as its so damn busy ;) Thanks for bringing your friends and see you soon for more ginger slice (vegan of course) Cheers Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surf Shack Eatery also viewed

Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Surf Shack Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.