We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent property”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Dining Room
Bathroom
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Garden
Deck
Pet Friendly
Top of stairs with safety gate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yoxford, Saxmundham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stevo750
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An excellent property”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We enjoyed a lovely few days' break at this excellent property, which has everything one needs. It has been sympathetically updated, retaining much of its period charm - the bedrooms still contain the original Victorian fireplaces. The kitchen is well-equipped and the bathroom has a touch of luxury, with its bath, wet-room-style shower and underfloor heating. The nearby A12 can be busy at certain times of day, but we were totally unaffected by any traffic noise, kept successfully at bay by the fact that the windows of the cottage face away from the road, and have internal wooden shutters. These can be closed at night for extra privacy and cosiness. There is a pleasant decked area, plus garden, to the rear of the property, which must be delightful to use in season - the time of year precluded us from this. However, during our stay, we were able to sit at a very pleasant seafront cafe in Southwold, which is within easy (20 mins) reach. We ate very well at The King's Head (10 mins walk) and enjoyed two visits to Louie-Lou's, the coffee shop in the village. For the historically inclined, Sutton Hoo, the site of excavation of important Anglo-Saxon artefacts, is a short drive away. There is much of interest within easy reach, and we shouldn't hesitate to return to this outstanding cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Hi Steve, thanks for the great review, always makes me happy to see people enjoying the cottage as much as we do. We haven't actually made it to Louie Lou's so that is going on the list. Thanks for staying with us. Anita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAlbansB...
St Albans
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fab cottage”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage is lovely and had all you could need for a relaxing break and more. Great location and easy to get to different villages such as Aldeburgh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandDEsse...
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A very lovely cottage”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a few nights just before Christmas.
The cottage is decorated very well. A couple of little things that would maybe stop us returning though are the shower - looks fab but water goes everywhere!! It's very hard to then get to the toilet or sink again without getting wet feet. But that's just us, not really fans of wet rooms. The bath is huge though!! Very relaxing. The other thing is the floor around the cottage was so slippery!!! We almost slipped so many times. Make sure you take slippers. Also we bought quite a bit of food but couldn't got it in the freezer or the cupboards because there was a lot of the owners food there.
Otherwise, the beds are comfy, we didn't hear any traffic even though the cottage is on a main road. The fire is great. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away. It was decorated a little for Christmas too which was lovely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2015
Thanks for your review. Always helpful to have constructive comments too and will address them with the housekeeper.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaleenL...
Belmullet, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We came across this cottage when looking to be close to family for Christmas. Great set up for us and the dogs.
It's on the A12 which can be busy esp as there is no off road parking but it was only a problem when crossing the road. We really didn't hear the cars etc and the garden is enclosed making it perfect for the dogs/kids. The local pub does good food just a few mins walk away and it's a great base to explore the area. Owner very easy to deal with and we have already booked to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael J
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, quaint Cottage”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Excellent accommodation, only negative so far was no cheese grater, purchased one easily and if that is the only thing we have to worry about its not bad. Not only is this Cottage well equipped it exceptionally well restored in keeping with its original character. It's location is central making exploring easy, there is a pub serving food within walking distance if you fancy a drink. it is on the busy A12 but to be honest I have slept well and it has not been a problem.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
Thanks alot for your review. Glad you had a nice time. There is a cheese grater, but it doesn't look like one, key learning there!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing