We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Candlemas Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peak Forest, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorna A
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely comfortable and cosy cottage with great amenities. It was clean and modern, a real home from home. Wonderful location for great walks, and Buxton and Bakewell are within a short drive. Nice welcoming touches from the owners and it's dog friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbins24...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway, cosy & perfectly formed!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This little cottage was everything we hoped for and more, we stayed for 3 nights with our two children. The downstairs lounge and kitchen area was bright and airy with beautiful views and had everything we needed. The bedrooms were more than big enough for our requirements too and had enough storage. There were also chairs and a table outside, on a little patio area, which were perfectly positioned to keep an eye on the kids whilst they played on the playground, which they did as soon as they were dressed in the morning! Peak forest itself is a nice little village and we enjoyed a meal at the local pub, The Devonshire Arms. We also enjoyed trips to nearby Castleton (fantastic underground caverns to visit & Mam Tor to climb) and the pretty towns of Bakewell & Buxton. All in all, a lovely cottage in a lovely area, would thoroughly recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJoBinks...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed a fabulous few days at this cottage, it was clean and very well maintained and cosy without being claustrophobic. The area is to die for and the park across the road was a big hit with our 6 yr old.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom window is clear glass so had to close blind everytime bathroom was in use
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfdfd u
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good accommodation and location especially for younger children”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Candlemas is in an excellent position for high peak area activities, such as going to caves, cycling the Monsal Trail (highly recommended), walking some spectacular peaks, visiting Castleton, Edale etc. It is also ideal in terms of being away from large towns and overlooking the Peak District countryside, so you really get the feel of being in the Peak zone. There is a great recreation space and swing-park for kicking a ball around and especially for young children to play, dead opposite the cottage so they can walk right out of the door and start playing and you can see them from the lounge. The cottage is small-ish so four adults with independent interests might be pushing it a bit over two weeks. But it's certainaly adequate.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea T
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay at Candlemas Cottage”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very enjoyable week at Candlemas Cottage. The Cottage is highly appointed with all the comforts that we would have at home. The living area and bedrooms were most comfortable and our son loved the bunk beds. The location was perfectly positioned for easy access to Bakewell, Castleton and Buxton. There was plenty of information in the cottage which helped us to find many places to visit. The cottage had the added bonus of a playground on it's door step, which our 5 year old son loved! We loved sitting in the evening looking out onto the hills and waking to see the rabbits in the field in the morning.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing