We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service experienced for a long time.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gumstore Bar & Grill
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Whangaroa
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 July 2019

These people should not be running a pub. The woman serving was rude, unhelpful, and unfriendly. The toasted sandwich was good, the ‘flat white’ almost undrinkable, with dozens of bubbles on top of weak coffee. There was no option of trim milk or decaf coffee. On a bleak day it was actually colder inside than out and it would have been nice to have had the fire on which was being set up as we walked in. But it was not to be. Not only that, the toilets and surrounding area smelt strongly of sewage. This quaint little pub surrounded by so much history deserves so much better.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Food
2  Thank Edward m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2019 via mobile

Went in today to try it for the first time. The bar manager was beyond rude. I’ve worked in hospitality for over 20 years and she was one of the rudest people that I’ve come across. She clearly didn’t want customers walking in the doors. We will never go back. We made the trip to try the place too.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Hospolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2019 via mobile

Off the beaten track but worth a visit. Full of memorabilia from the district, this place has atmosphere. Meet the friendly locals and sit out on the deck over the mangroves whilst enjoying a coldly and a basket of tasty crisp hot chips.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank lulu1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

This place could do with a face lift, new menu and most of all new staff - unfriendly, rude, unwelcoming not sure why they are there they certainly don't appear to want to be there. Such a shame as this was once a thriving business- move on if you don't want to be there and lease it to someone who does

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank esthermilbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2018

A local person recommended the Gumstore Bar and Grill when he learned we would be hiking in the area. It is perhaps worth a short stop. The decor is overwhelming in some ways: marine motifs, stuffed fish trophies, bric-a-brac, almost museum like. We only had time for drinks, which were nothing special.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 89thst
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Gumstore Bar & Grill also viewed

Whangaroa, Northland Region
Kaeo, Northland Region
 

Been to Gumstore Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.