We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Absolutely unique experience in one of the most beautiful locations

Fantastic day out with a group of friends. The walk is gorgeous with the spectacular giant boulder... read more

Reviewed 14 January 2023
Carolyns2347
via mobile
Fantastic remote place in Northland

If you don't mind a bit of a drive off the beaten track this place is a real find. The tracks are... read more

Reviewed 2 January 2023
clairedQ1464SB
Read all 197 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
145
39
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
145
39
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off the beaten track swimming hole couple of hours viewing platform kayak hire loop walk native bush boulder valley trail honesty walks ankle backpack bird toilets northland mangroves
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

Great wee escape into a different environment, did the shorter walks around and through the boulders. Pleased we did it’s at this time of the year as wouldn’t want to be climbing around some of the tree roots and rocks when path was slippery. Definitely advise food walking shoes and being careful not to sprain an ankle.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank MaggiePrentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2019

Great track through this amazing area covered in ancient volcanic boulders. Good information at the entrance. No one on duty at the time we visited, so paid our entrance fee into the honesty box

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Katxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

Just a very cool family-run operation. You can stay at the B&B or in the very nice campground, or just swing by for a few hours. There's a little trailer out front for baked goods and coffee, then an entry shed with some photos and history. Once through the gate you have 3 different short trails from which to pick, each giving you different views of the amazing giant boulder field. The boulders were scalloped over the centuries by slightly acidic water seeping down from an ancient Kauri forest. Nice stream and swimming hole. You hikd around, through and over the boulders. Definitely worth a stop.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank BradS922
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

I really wasn't sure what to expect, but based on some previous reviews we decided to visit. I'm so glad we did. It's an interesting walk through 2.8 million year old boulders, with interpretive signs along the way. It is moderately strenuous in terms of altitude gain to Lookout Point, and there are sections of the Boulder Loop trail where you have to climb over or through boulders. There is a small cafe with coffee and pastries where you purchase your tickets. $15/adult, $5/child or a family pass for $35 that admits 2 adults + children. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank chicagokraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2019

Absolutely amazing location and brilliant place to camp with parking and picnic tables. The hosts were incredibly welcoming and friendly! Unbelievable view from atop the "magic boulder" and a glorious little swimming hole within the boulders walk.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Kieranmartinnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews