We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campsite, minus the showers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waitangi Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Lovely site, lovely location, decently comfortable cabin, unbeatable prices. But the showers, at the least the women's, were horrible: super dirty floor & zero shower pressure. My husband said the men's showers were fine. Other than that, great property - only a ~20-25min walk into town along the coast. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tekemara, Manager at Waitangi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Jennifer

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you liked our Holiday Park and the price. I am sorry, however, you found the shower floor dirty, our staff clean this every day, but due to the wet weather it may have appeared it had not been cleaned.

Regards
The Team at the Waitangi Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

Every time I go to explore the Bay of Islands I stay at the Waitangi Holiday Campground. I've generally been up during the winter and have found the cabins to be clean and ready with the basics (dishes, fridge, heater, etc.) The shared kitchen is great for getting to know other travelers, and the overall layout of the grounds, right there on the river, is just gorgeous. Have breakfast looking out onto the river, or walk 5 min to the cafe at Waitangi or 15-20 min to central Paihia. I could hear kiwis at night, which I'd only heard on TV before, so that was pretty amazing. The staff are super friendly and helpful and the place is clearly well looked after. Basic amenities for low fuss campers who want to be in nature but not too far from the buzz of Paihia or Waitangi.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank npoindexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tekemara, Manager at Waitangi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear npoindextor

Thank you for taking the time to write such are great informative review for the Holiday Park. We really enjoy reading about the highlights of your stay.

Regards
The Team at the the Waitangi Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Really good camp site not far from Waitangi Treaty grounds and walking distance to nearby hotels, bars and shops
Has wifi, laundry and good clean washrooms
Staff at reception were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tekemara, Manager at Waitangi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Libby

Thank you for writing a review for the Park. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us.

Regards the Team at the Waitangi Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We spent two nights here in our hired camper during the Lions Tour. The lady on registration were very welcoming Shower block was clean and the showers were excellent. Powered pitches are flat and ours had a concrete base, which was good as there had been a lot of rain. We had a riverside pitch which was beautiful. We used the laundry here with washing machines and tumble dryers which were reasonable at NZ$2 per appliance and you can buy washing powder from the reception area, but could do with an extra tumble dryer. The camp ground is only a 20 minute walk into the centre of Pahia for restaurants etc. All in all a great place to stay on our two week Lions trip.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tekemara, Manager at Waitangi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Suzanne

Thank you for taking the time to write a great informative review about the Holiday Park.

Regards the team at the Waitangi Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Great campsite. Friendly efficient checkin and gorgeous views over the water. Clean toilets and spacious sites.

Lovely walk along the sand to the bridge to the Treaty Grounds or along the beach to Paihia town. There's even a Countdown 5 minutes walk away so it's got everything you could need!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank NikE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tekemara, Manager at Waitangi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear NikE7

Thank you for writing a great review about the park. It is rewarding to hear when guests enjoy their time with us.

Regards
The Waitangi Holiday Park Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northland Region
0.7 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
3.5 km away
Paihia TOP 10
Paihia TOP 10
#4 of 31 in Paihia
212 reviews
0.6 km away
Bay of Islands Campervan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
37.4 km away
Crab Cove
Crab Cove
#458 of 1,342 in North Island
18 reviews
56.5 km away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Northland Region

Been to Waitangi Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitangi Holiday Park

Address: 21 Tahuna Road | Waitangi, 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 212 Speciality Lodging in Northland Region
Price Range: $73 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waitangi Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer Waitangi accommodation including comfortable cabins and powered and non-powered camp sites, most with uninterrupted views of the Waitangi River. The Park provides a welcoming atmosphere and we try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible in relaxed surroundings. Our Bay of Islands accommodation is simple, but very clean and is suited to all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waitangi Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing