We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Place and Superb Hosts !!”
other travellers have booked this property
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!. Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!.
Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
View of living area from kitchen
Oh I wish I knew how to upload photos!
Three wee birdies by the lamp in the double bedroom.
Chooks and hunky cockerel..scraps in...eggs out!
Garden and outside seating area - perfect to use the barbecue!
Standing stone overlooking Townhead Resevoir (known as The Damn or Banton Loch)
View over the Kelvin Valley from the farm.
Beautiful countryside views from all around the Bothy.
Swans and cygnets from the local Mill Pond.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Red_1ndia...
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Place and Superb Hosts !!”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Thanks for the lovely stay Heather, can never forget the hospitality and the real taste of Scotland you provided us with.

The bothy is better than a 5-star hotel and your personal touch makes it 7-star.

We love you all.

Love to Dove and the Kids !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Dear Rob and family,--many thanks for your uplifting words. I was having a bad week when your review came back and it fairly cheered me up! We are so glad that you enjoyed the time you had here and made the most of the nearby night life!. We hope you have settled back into life in Belfast once again. Please feel free to visit us again and we will try and catch another wild haggis for you to devour! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammc671
Siggiewi, Malta
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We all had a wonderful time at Stoury Bouthy. The location is superb and both Edinburgh and Glasgow can be reached within minutes by car. Parking at the cottage is no problem at all. The cottage is very well maintained and extremely clean. Heather has been very friendly and helpful, and apart from the excellent pack found on our first day, one afternoon she surprised us with home made muffins(which, by the way were delicious). We wished we could spend some more days there and would definitely recommend this cottage. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness and the friendly atmosphere we found.
Liked least: Nothing in particular.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Dear Charlie and family, thank you very much for the kind feedback from Malta. We are glad you had a good stay at the bothy and made the most of the nearby attractions. We hope you have got used to the warmth of Malta after acclimatising to the Scottish climate! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2e_transl...
Annecy (France) V Galway (Ireland)
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A cozy and calm place to stay, only 40 minutes from Edimbourg Airport”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

In the heart of the country-side, lies a gem, that we feel honoured to have found.

Stoury Bothy is a home away from home and even better. We travelled to Scotland for my brother's wedding, and after such a short stay, are sure we will return.
Our boys aged 8 and 12 made the most of the garden and all the toys. And as a result, we enjoyed the calm :)
Heather, is the sweetest person ever. Her good nature and humour can be felt from the moment you make an enquiry, to the moment you say goodbye after a long or short stay.
The cottage is attached to their farm house at the end of a lovely farm road. Not a noise to bother you. Despite being so close to the airport.
A generous basket of goodies awaited us on arrival. We have rented many homes in France and abroad, and have often received little goodies, but this basket wins hands down!
The cottage is very comfortable. Very well equipped. Beautifully decorated and immaculately clean.
Only complaint that we could possibly make - is that our stay was too short!
We want to extend our thanks to Heather for her warm Scottish welcome and hospitality, and also to her lovely husband, Dove, who is behind the scene working hard on the farm.

Would we recommend Stoury Bothy? YES! Just be sure not to overlap with our next holidays, as we intend to return :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you Laura so much for another kind review. We are all so glad you enjoyed your time here and would love to see you back again, maybe for the next wedding! We are glad that you made the most of the calm. It would be stressful enough getting ready for a wedding with two boys, so I am glad that we kept your blood pressure down! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyJor...
1 review
“Sweetness and charm”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved our stay at Stoury Bothy so much we wish it had been longer than two nights. From the moment we were greeted by Heather and shown in, we felt welcome and at home. The rooms are decorated in a lovely, crafty, original style (Heather's handiwork, I learned), and everything about the place invites you to relax and enjoy. It is peaceful, the views are lovely, it's immaculately clean, the beds are very comfy, (the eggs are divine!) ... I could go on, but it's clear that we recommend staying here AND that we'll be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2014
Many, many thanks for such a lovely review. We try to keep the bothy looking homely and quirky, -- many people just want that cosy feeling of comfort you get when you visit your grannies house! Many people have told us that it is more homely than their own home! Its a home from home or a hame fae hame. xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill G
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely excellent accommodation and host”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a great week staying at the Bothy and visiting various locations. Our 3 grandchildren loved their time at the farm playing with Heather's children. The Bothy itself is really nice and the attention to detail was fantastic - we didn't need all the extras we brought with us. Heather is a lovely host and nothing is too much bother. We would recommend Stoury Bothy to anyone and have already done so. Thanks Heather for making our week even more special and thanks to your children from our grandchildren.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome and the Bothy
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2014
Fun times! When you are a kid and you make wee pals on holiday, you never really forget them. We are so glad that you all had a ball and would love to see you all again. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing