We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Hidden gem with access to all of Scotland!”
other travellers have booked this property
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!. Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!.
Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
View of living area from kitchen
Oh I wish I knew how to upload photos!
Three wee birdies by the lamp in the double bedroom.
Chooks and hunky cockerel..scraps in...eggs out!
Garden and outside seating area - perfect to use the barbecue!
Standing stone overlooking Townhead Resevoir (known as The Damn or Banton Loch)
View over the Kelvin Valley from the farm.
Beautiful countryside views from all around the Bothy.
Swans and cygnets from the local Mill Pond.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Katy L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Hidden gem with access to all of Scotland!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I stayed at Stoury Bothy with my partner and had a superb time. Heather gave us such a warm welcome when we arrived and made us feel very special. The Bothy itself is beautiful. Cosy and wonderfully decorated - traditional with a modern twist. It had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. The location is ideal. We felt like we were getting away from the bustle of every day life yet had easy access to transport links across Scotland. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable visit!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2013
Thank you and we are so glad that you had a special time. It just goes to show that even outwith the Golf and the Commonwealth Games and the summer, Scotland is still a fabulous place to visit and enjoy the simple things in life, such as eating, walking and breathing in fresh air. My favourite is the eating!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Marvellous time, wonderful host, cosy bothy.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Decided to stay here since we wanted to visit both Edinburgh and Glasgow over the holiday weekend. We didn't expect it to be quite as cosy, comfortable and welcoming as it was. Close to a number of nice eating locations - recommend the Boat House. Easy transport into the centre of Glasgow, free parking at the train station which was 5 mins away. Coming home in the evening and enjoying the comforts of the bothy. Ace welcoming pack too, and extra bonus. Enjoyed the fresh eggs that were brought to us in the morning. We are definitely coming back, rather than staying in a hotel, whenever we visit Glasgow or Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
Thank you David for your kind words. We are so pleased you had happy times and would gladly welcome you back any time. We are a country retreat in the middle of Scotland’s 2 main cities..Glasgow and Edinburgh and also very near Falkirk and Stirling and Loch Lomond. Some of our adventurous travellers have also popped up to Loch Ness and Glencoe for the day! Not bad!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mccartney...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“The welcome and thoughtfulness made travelling with young children much easier!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Thanks to Heather for the warm welcome and providing everything we needed for our holiday! We stayed for nine days with a three year old and a three month old and by lending us everything from Moses Basket and baby sleeping bag to toys, Heather made our trip - not to mention packing - much easier!
Stoury Bothy provided us with a lovely cosy bolthole and we managed trips to Glasgow, Edinburgh, Perth and Oban using it as a base.
Definitely a cut above the average self-catering with a lovely welcome pack, fresh eggs and even slices of chocolate cake when one of her kids had a birthday - it all just made us feel so welcome and relaxed from the start.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2013
Thank you so much Christine for your lovely words. We are glad you had a good holiday. We are happy to help out when people have children to cater for...even if it just means saving a bit of car boot space by letting me provide the baby basics! We would love to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparkdog1...
Chichester, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cosy bolt hole”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have had a fabulous holiday at Stoury Bothy with our 16 month old daughter.

Having travelled 400 miles we were pleased to be welcomed by a friendly host, warm cosy bothy and everything we could need or want from toys for our daughter to play with to a generous welcome basket which meant we didn't have to pop out to the shops until the next day.

The Bothy is in a great location which has enabled us to explore Glasgow, Bridge of Allan, Stirling with its fabulous castle, the Falkirk Wheel, Loch Lomond, Anstruther and St Andrews in just a few days. It has been lovely to retreat to relaxing and tranquil surroundings in the evenings after a long day of exploring some of Scotland's treasures.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cosiness
Liked least: Occupier operated heated towel rails in the bathroom would be useful
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and you seem to have seen a good bit of Central Scotland along the way. We would love to welcome you back any time. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The love shines through!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This little bothy is the "love-child" of Heather, the hostess. It perfectly reflects her bubbly, warm and welcoming personality. Much of the decor is beautifully and imaginatively hand-made and Heather has thought of virtually everything! There are far more bits and pieces provided than in most self-catering properties that first-timers to this type of holiday may be disappointed if they later expect the same elsewhere! She lives in the farmhouse which is attached to the bothy but due to its position along the side, it seems almost detached and Heather's family keeps a low-profile. It is, however, a working farm so there are the usual sounds of sheep, cows and tractors. A car is essential for this location as it's set up on a hill which provides marvellous views. Heather, thanks so much for providing such a lovely vacation spot!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hostess and the decor!
Liked least: The driveway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing