We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy bolt hole”
other travellers have booked this property
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!. Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!.
Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
View of living area from kitchen
Oh I wish I knew how to upload photos!
Three wee birdies by the lamp in the double bedroom.
Chooks and hunky cockerel..scraps in...eggs out!
Garden and outside seating area - perfect to use the barbecue!
Standing stone overlooking Townhead Resevoir (known as The Damn or Banton Loch)
View over the Kelvin Valley from the farm.
Beautiful countryside views from all around the Bothy.
Swans and cygnets from the local Mill Pond.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
sparkdog1...
Chichester, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cosy bolt hole”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have had a fabulous holiday at Stoury Bothy with our 16 month old daughter.

Having travelled 400 miles we were pleased to be welcomed by a friendly host, warm cosy bothy and everything we could need or want from toys for our daughter to play with to a generous welcome basket which meant we didn't have to pop out to the shops until the next day.

The Bothy is in a great location which has enabled us to explore Glasgow, Bridge of Allan, Stirling with its fabulous castle, the Falkirk Wheel, Loch Lomond, Anstruther and St Andrews in just a few days. It has been lovely to retreat to relaxing and tranquil surroundings in the evenings after a long day of exploring some of Scotland's treasures.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cosiness
Liked least: Occupier operated heated towel rails in the bathroom would be useful
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and you seem to have seen a good bit of Central Scotland along the way. We would love to welcome you back any time. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The love shines through!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This little bothy is the "love-child" of Heather, the hostess. It perfectly reflects her bubbly, warm and welcoming personality. Much of the decor is beautifully and imaginatively hand-made and Heather has thought of virtually everything! There are far more bits and pieces provided than in most self-catering properties that first-timers to this type of holiday may be disappointed if they later expect the same elsewhere! She lives in the farmhouse which is attached to the bothy but due to its position along the side, it seems almost detached and Heather's family keeps a low-profile. It is, however, a working farm so there are the usual sounds of sheep, cows and tractors. A car is essential for this location as it's set up on a hill which provides marvellous views. Heather, thanks so much for providing such a lovely vacation spot!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hostess and the decor!
Liked least: The driveway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon H
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply Excellent”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We highly recommend Stoury Bothy. This cosy holiday home is superbly appointed, clean and very comfortable. Heather is an excellent host; very friendly and helpful (ask about the Dumpling!) and the setting is magnificent. The Bothy adjoins a working farm with sheep, cows ( 2 calves were born whilst we were there) and hens. It is well placed as a base for travel to Edinburgh (the train from Croy takes roughly 30 mins), Stirling and to Loch Lomond (40 mins by car). In summary, an excellent wee holiday home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Helpful owner, standard of the accommodation.
Liked least: The drive to the farm!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smithfami...
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend this place highly enough”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed with our young family for 10 nights, and could not have had a more enjoyable stay. The property is tastefully and thoughtfully decorated, with very comfy beds & sofa, perfect for snuggling up on! The kitchen is equipped with everything you could need, and there was a plentiful supply of soft fluffy towels in the bathroom. Heather had also provided everything we could have possibly needed for the children (one of whom is a baby), even loaning some toys from her own children for ours to play with! We are a family of four and there was more than enough space for us all.

Being seasoned self-caterers, we had taken the essentials with us (salt & pepper, toilet rolls, washing up liquid etc), but all of these were provided, along with other basics like like bread, butter and orange juice, as well as some lovely treats. All in all an excellent and thoughtfully put together food hamper.

Heather and her family were very welcoming, but not at all intrusive, answering any questions we had and recommending places for us to visit. Heather 's husband Dov kindly allowed our 5 year old son to spend time "helping" him on the farm, and he also had a great time playing with their children. He definitely made some new friends, so much so that he cried when it was time to leave, a sure sign he'd had a great holiday!

This property is well located for easy day-trips to Glasgow, Stirling, Edinburgh and Loch Lomond, although a car would definitely be needed - just take your time coming up the road to the farm!

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here, would happily stay again and cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy property, great location.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2013
Thank you S for your lovely review. I am glad you had a good holiday and hope your little Cs friend's back home really believe what he got up to on his holidays!.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shashini
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fasinating views. Excellent hospitality. Very relaxing and Comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had lovely stay in Scotland at Heather's place in July 2013, wish I had more holidays to stay there! I took my parents who came on a holiday from Sri Lanka and they loved the way they were treated by Heather.

The place located in a tranquill area and was very neat and tidy with a very clean and modern bathroom. Heather was so concerned and thoughtful so she had provided everything you feel that is necessary for your stay. Heather had been very thoughtful to prepared a lovely food basket with Scottish bread, butter, cheese, biscuits and etc. We enjoyed the farm fresh eggs that were available in her farm. They are HUGE :)

There are superstores (Asda and Tesco) withing 8 miles so it was very convenient for us to buy things. Its and ideal place if you want a relaxing and calm holiday as well as for sight seeing.

The owner (Heather) lives next to the cottage and her little ones were so adorable and very well behaved. They invited us for a camp fire as well :)
It was well worthy stay and we have no hesitation in recommending Stoury Bothy to anyone. This will definitely be our home when we come to Scotland again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Calm, quiet and relaxing stay
Liked least: returning home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing