We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
189
73
28
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
73
28
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive groves the owner wine tasting at home minute drive our honeymoon swimming pool main farmhouse spa shower beautiful vineyard the bed was super comfortable breakfast room rooms are large salento area scrambled eggs last night small town
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We spent a wonderful three nights at Masseria Le Fabriche. The setting feels very remote in the countryside of Puglia among the grape fields and olive groves. The masseria is idyllic and historic and has been beautifully renovated.

The staff is very warm and helpful. We were greeted by the whole team and shown to our room. The rooms are separated from the masseria by a short walk and consist of single level villas containing two rooms each. We reserved adjoining junior suites, which was a great setup for us essentially giving us our own villa with a king room and a twin room. The rooms are gorgeous and look straight out of a Milan design magazine. Sleek stone walls and floors accented with touches of linen and gray oak. The rooms are in two rows looking in opposite directions out to the olive groves, which gives great privacy and a sense of being immersed in the groves.

Breakfast is served in the balcony of the masseria with lovely views to the West. They serve a typical breakfast for the region with meats, cheeses, breads, jams and pastries. It is a great setting. We also ate dinner twice at the masseria, where dinner is served with beautiful views of the sunset. The food was excellent and there is the ability to sample wines created from the very grape vines you are gazing over.

The hotel is located a short 15 to 20 minute drive to the coast. The staff will arrange reservations at the local beach clubs for your day in the sand. It would have been nice if the hotel also had a pool, but unfortunately it does not. They do have a relationship with another masseria in the area, where you can pay to visit the pool, which we took advantage of one day.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay and we would certainly recommend Masseria Le Fabriche

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JBBNYC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We planned to stay five nights but stayed for six we liked it so much. A beautiful masseria on its own vineyard a very short drive from the small town of Maruggio and the beach. The villas have been very well thought through, extremely comfortable and stylish and overlooking the olive groves. Delighted with the warm and personal welcome we received by the owner and her daughter and helpful staff. We'll definitely return.

Room tip: All rooms are recently built and assume all similar
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fooderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Firstly I’ll explain my review and want to be as fair as possible. I think this place is expensive for what you get, especially when I compare to all the masseria’s we stayed on our trip to the region that were a similar price. On that basis I wouldn’t recommend staying here as there are plenty of better options out there (feel free to message me and I can recommend).

First the positives:

The interior of the rooms are very nice, modern and clean. The design of the room I think is the best bit of the masseria. Nice bathroom, comfortable bed.

The receptionist in the morning, Sara, is very friendly with a warm smile and was helpful with the questions we asked her. Unfortunately she wasn’t there the first day.

The beaches close by are also the highlight of the area and less than 15 mins away. There are some beautiful natural ones in the sand dunes and Lido Posto 9 is a really nice beach club to visit.

The view of the vineyards and the old farmhouse is nice as you drive down the path.

The negatives/where I feel this hotel falls down...

From the website, the marketing of this masseria says the owner wanted to combine winemaking and hospitality. This is what sold us to choose this hotel as our main reason to visit this part of Puglja was for the wine. We’ve travelled to many countries staying at wine resorts to try local wine.. Our view of this hotel is that there isn’t a connection between staying here and the wine. This is where the hotel falls down hugely and is mis-marketed. For a start there isn’t wine tasting available at the hotel to sample their own wines. The views from the rooms do not look out onto the vineyard. There is no explanation about the owner, history of wine growing. There isn’t even any wine in the room minibar for you to try which would have been a nice touch. To us there is no connection between “winemaking and hospitality” other than the hotel rooms sit within the same land as some vineyards.

I would describe this accommodation more as a lodge than a masseria or wine resort or even hotel. The suites are located away from the main farmhouse in modern blocks and almost feel like self contained holiday lodges than hotel rooms. We stayed in several masseria’s on our trip where you stay within the old farmhouse which is full of charm. You often meet the owner/family and feel very much at home. Masseria Le Fabriche is not a masseria in that sense. To us it seemed the beauty of the old masseria building is under-utilised especially as the rooms are tucked away from it. The old farmhouse serves more as a breakfast room and restaurant than a place guests can enjoy. The downstairs feels like a large empty reception that unfortunately lacks the soul and charm or a traditional masseria. The whole of the upstairs is dedicated to the restaurant. There is an adjoining building that seems empty and unused that I assume is only used for conferences. Obviously there is no pool which is just another simple point all the other masseria’s we stayed in had. It’s a shame as this place could have potential but at the moment simply doesn’t compare to the competition, especially given the price.

Downsides of the room, there was no information book in the room.. again a basic of a hotel. Information about the area, wine region, wine tasting tours, beaches etc as well as information about the ‘hotel’ check out time, breakfast time etc should really be in the room. This especially should be provided as in the first day the main helpful receptionist, Sara wasn’t there and the other two people we saw that day couldn’t speak English very well and weren’t able to answer our questions on the area, wine tasting etc. There is a main road that is quite noisy and can be heard from the room (and breakfast room).

The food is average to poor (again especially compared to the standard we received elsewhere for a similar price). Breakfast was the most basic we had.. simple, no eggs etc. The same both days too. We ate once in the restaurant which was ok but we had much better elsewhere. We ordered a bottle of their local wine produced by the house which was not opened in front of us and just came out in a decanter. You would never have that in an upmarket restaurant - the waiter should always open the bottle in front of you. The food was ok but luke warm.. we were planning of having three courses but stopped at two as it wasn’t great.

My review is based on my experience of the region and what you can get for your money. This place unfortunately was the stand out of our trip and really didn’t meet our expectations as marketed on their website nor compare to anywhere else we stayed or ate for a similar price. For that reason I’m afraid I wouldn’t recommend Masseria Le Fabriche and have given an average rating as I know there are better options in the same price bracket. We left feeling disappointed. Previous reviews on tripadvisor suggest otherwise (another reason we originally booked this place), although the last review was made 8 months before me so maybe something has changed since then?

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank DreamDiscoverTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

I must mention that we stayed at this Masseria for 5 days during which we were alone for 3. It was as if we were owners of an Italian Villa who had come for a visit, or actors in an Italian movie about a family that owned an olive grove and vineyard. We were in the Maruggio area early in October which appears to be a slower tourist season. Even though we were just two for many nights, the quality of the food and the service never wavered and was of a very high standard. We ate 4 of our five meals at the Masseria and on the recommendation of the staff ate one supper at a wonderful restaurant in Maruggio called Fico d'India. Our room was very comfortable, and felt quite luxurious because of the bed linens and the towels. Sitting on the terrace having our breakfast overlooking the olive groves and vineyard was quite a memorable experience. There was even a full moon to add to the delight of the place. The staff always made every effort to meet our requests. Antonella , who served us breakfast, provided what we needed for a simple lunch as we headed to the beach. Sara, at the front desk, was very helpful and greeted you with a ready smile. Do not hesitate to ask her a question. If Sara does not have the immediate answer, you can be sure that she will do what she can to answer your query. Marco, our waiter, was knowledgeable and attentive. It was apparent that great care and thought went into the making of this successful, modern Masseria. If you check put the photos posted on the Masseria's web-site, you will understand why we felt that we have walked into an Italian movie!

Room tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the olive grove and enjoy time on your own patio soaking up the sun and smelling the bougainvilla.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prest0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Clean and spacious rooms with luxurious bathrooms. We loved our stay and can definitely recommend this venue to anyone!

One small suggestion: the minibar could stocked with also alcoholic beverages and some snacks (beers, wines, nuts, chips and chocolates for example).

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rexdenticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews