We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful”
other travellers have booked this property
Upwards view from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upwards view from the garden
View from the garden decking View for the garden decking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Upwards view from the garden
View from the garden decking
View for the garden decking
The cottage is perfect in winter!
Another garden view
From outside on the peaceful lane - 2 cars is rush hour!
View to demonstrate surrounding valley
Cozy wood burning stove
Bedroom
View from bedroom window
The neighbours
Front room
From outside
The lane behind the house a lovely 3 mile walk
more neighbours
Bedrooms autumn view
Bedroom
Bedroom
Just down the lane.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ampleforth, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judith B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Really lovely little cottage in the most perfect setting. Really well equipped and cosy cottage with everything we needed. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little gem of a cottage with beautiful views.”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Brackensyke a few times usually in October but decided to go in April and see it in the Spring, we had snow! Cottage was lovely,always warm never had to use wood burner. It is the perfect cottage to relax in, the garden is lovely and the views are beautiful. There is so much to see and do in the area, great walks starting from the cottage door. We keep thinking we should stay somewhere else for a change but Brackensyke is such a gem we just keep coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bootleg62...
Ravenglass, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful.”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed staying in this little gem. The weather was kind to us and we had a good workout walking back up the hill after going to the village. The photographs of the views do not do them justice. We would definitely stay there again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Bank holiday escape”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Brackenskye cottage! Would recommend for any couple who is looking to get away from hustle and bustle and enjoy the countryside. This was our first visit to the Yorkshire Moors and loved it, daytrips to York and Whitby/the coast were easy. The cottage was perfect for us, it has a lovely inside fireplace, well equipped kitchen and is very cozy indeed! The view from the deck at the edge of the garden was worth the trip alone, plus we made some horse friends! Ambleforth was a quaint lovely village with good pubs, enjoyed playing darts at the swan, excellent and friendly staff! Only struggle was getting back up the hill after a few pints.. ;) thank you again for a lovely stay!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunflower...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice cottage!”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Very cute cottage - would stay again! Nice pub (white horse) in short reach and Ampleforth Abbey. Nice log fire! Thanks again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing