We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our second holiday in the Walnut Store...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Peyzac-le-Moustier, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann B
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our second holiday in the Walnut Store (Perfection)”
Reviewed 23 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This was our second holiday in France and at Le Manoir Des Granges. We stayed in the Walnut Store which is a beautiful, typically French style one bedroomed gite. It was spotlessly clean and had everything you might need, including shared use of a chest freezer and washing machine, which were accessed just off the courtyard, there was also a clothes line, ironing board and iron (very handy if you are staying for a while). The bedroom has a door which opens directly onto the poolside where there were parasols, chairs and sunbeds. The pool was lovely and we wasted no time in getting in there to cool down. At the front of the Walnut Store we had our own little terrace where we could sit out and soak up the atmosphere whilst having our breakfast or evening meal. Le Moustier has a fantastic restaurant and boulangerie which are a 5 minute walk away, it was a perfect base. Our hosts Phillipa and Paul were really lovely and were there to give us advice on places to visit and the best markets, they even booked us a table at Le Table du Moustier on our first night so we didn't have to worry about finding somewhere to eat. They were very kind and helpful yet never intrusive. Thank you for a wonderful holiday (and for the lovely bottle of wine you left for us), we thoroughly enjoyed both and we hope to be back again soon. Very highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2018
Thank you for a fabulous review of your second visit to Le Manoir des Granges. It's wonderful to know that you had a great time and we enjoyed meeting up with you both again. We will look forward to your third visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine E
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay and pet friendly”
Reviewed 22 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Stayed in the walnut store, very well equipped, clean and comfortable, the bed was especially comfortable. Our dog stayed with us and we were made very welcome by the friendly and informative hosts who live in the main house. Own outside space and shared pool. Based in a lovely area right across from La Roc St Christoph which was well worth a visit and near to loads of other places, vineyards, medieval villages, chateaux etc. Bakery and a great restaurant just a few minutes walk, 5/10 minutes drive to nearest supermarket. Complimentary bottle of wine and bowl of walnuts was very much appreciated. Have recommended to faimily and friends already and we hope to go back someday for a longer stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2018
Thank you Elaine. We are grateful that you have taken the time to post a review of your stay and are happy that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your next visit and hope that Abby will come along too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jet284956
2 reviews
“Nice place and nice owners.”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Good accomodation and helpfull owners on site.
Nice bottle of complementary wine upon arrival.
Thankyou.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thank you for your review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and the wine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrooJ
Glenrothes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant base camp !”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Comfortable and relaxing base camp to explore the numerous places of interest in this fascinating region of France. Walking, cycling, canoeing, prehistoric sites,vineyards,chateaux to name but a few of the attractions on the doorstep or within easy reach. The friendly hosts,on hand with tips for places to go, eat and visit.
I'd go back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The region offers so much.
Liked least: The local pub / restaurant closed for refurbishment.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarenbol...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cant wait to come again”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Fantastic location, perfect accommodation and wonderful hosts - all the ingredients for a holiday to remember - you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing