We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic setting and lovely hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Saint-Pierre-sur-Dives, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth K
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Idyllic setting and lovely hosts”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a lovely gite, well equipped and very clean with lots of character - exposed stonework and beams - situated on the first floor of the building. Martine and Michel live in the adjoining cottage and were very welcoming, kind and helpful throughout our stay. The gardens are lovely with lots of space to play in. The pool is wonderful and the children, especially, really enjoyed being able to use it whenever they wanted to - it is shared with the two other gites on site but never felt crowded. The gardens back on to countryside with a pony, a donkey and chickens nearby. We visited many places including Falaise, Bayeux and the D day beach at Arromanches , all were easy to drive to and there are loads of things to do within easy reach. But it would be very easy to just relax at the gite the whole time as the setting is so chilled and beautiful, within a quiet and historic village. The only thing that was slightly tricky was that our two year old couldn't manage the stone stairs up to the apartment without help so we just needed to keep a close eye on him if the front door was open. We had a wonderful week in this gite and would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and gardens
Liked least: The stone stairs - beautiful but tricky for little ones!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dina A
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The nicest hosts in France”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had an amazing time in this Gite. The hosts Michel and Martine were very friendly and inviting. The GIte contained more than we exppected and were even offered fresh eggs from the chickens. The weather was fantastic so the kids enjoyed the pool. They also have a horse, a donkey and chickens. The location was 30 minutes away from the Cider route and 50 minutes from the beaches of Normandy. A previous reviewer mentioned that there is no living room but you don't really need one in good weather. Would rather much have an extra bedroom than a living room especially as we were with 3 teenagers who spent their time outside playing table tennis or swimming in the pool. The only downside is the tiny village with barely any amenities.
Overall a great holldiay experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent well equipped Gite with wonderful hosts Michel & Martinez”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Gite Le Poulailler was a wonderfully Equipped Gite with 3 bedrooms, Dining Area, Kitchen, Bathroom & Toilet which was ample size for a Family of five including 2 teenagers of 17 & 15.
Only downfall is there is no Living Room to relax in, so spent most of the time in the Dining Room; however the weather was reasonable to spend most of the week outside.
The grounds are secure with an Electric Gate and have a wonderful heated Swimming Pool and grounds to play games in.
Michel & Martine are wonderful hosts and were helpful throughout the stay and a joy to be with.
The Gite is located in a small Quiet Village with a small shop and minimal traffic.
Nearest town of St Pierre Sur Dives is approx 5kms from the Gite and is well equipped with shops of all sorts and has its own history.
We will be revisiting in the New Year......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: No Living Room
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon267...
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just come back from a fantastic holiday in Courcy at Gite Le Poulailler. Andree-Martine and her husband were there to greet us when we arrived and were really welcoming and friendly. The converted barn is beautiful, it's all finished off to a high standard and was spotlessly clean. All the beds were made up on our arrival and there were plenty of towels for everyone. It was like home away from home and had everything we needed and more. The pool and area around it was perfect for the children (aged 9, 15 & 17) and they spent hour upon hour in the swimming pool. Even on the days it wasn't so sunny or we had some rain they were able to use it with the cover over. There was table tennis and various games for the children and plenty of space for them to run around or play football. There are electric gates at the entrance which are kept closed at all times (everyone is given their own key fob) so it was totally safe for the children to play outside at anytime. The children loved the freedom they had there, also visiting the chickens and feeding the horse & donkey in the next field! We had wifi in the gite which was really handy and much faster than at home! It was central to lots of towns and only 45 minutes from the beautiful beach at Deauville, definitely worth a visit, lots of chateaus close by and plenty of places to eat in the local towns. There's a Lidl supermarket a few miles away which sold everything and baked fresh bread all day then there's a large supermarket the other side of town again just a few miles away. There is a big traditional market held in Saint Pierre sur Dives on a Monday and people selling just about everything! For us there were no downsides at all, we really loved our stay in Le Poulailler and will definitely be returning again. It's perfect if you want somewhere relaxing and peaceful to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyClar...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Myself, my partner and our three kids aged 16, 10 and 6 stayed at 'LE POULAILLER' for a week. The gite was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bedrooms were all very comfortable and spacious and the kitchen well equipped. We did slightly miss having a living area, particularly in the evenings but this was more than compensated for with the lovely pool and gardens. The pool was always a comfortable temperature and our eldest, a keen rider, was thrilled to get the chance to ride the owner's horse on several occasions. It was very reassuring, particularly having a six year old with us, that the complex had electric gates so that we could relax knowing the children were safe playing outside. There were two other cottages in the grounds but everybody had plenty of space of their own to sit out and eat alfresco. The nearest supermarket was a short 5 minute drive away which was ideal and there are many, many places to see within an hour's drive. Would recommend a day in Honfleur, a visit to their butterfly park and lunch by the harbour. All in all I think this accommodation was fantastic value for money with lovely owners onsite who have achieved the perfect balance of friendliness/help and privacy for their guests. We would definitely not hesitate to go back and feel there are still so many things left for us to see in the surrounding areas. We will be recommending the gite to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property and grounds
Liked least: Not having a living area or second toilet.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$93
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing