We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good taverna food”

George's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Kalamos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very good tavern food. Typical local menu and loads of atmosphere from the sailors who patronise Georges.

Date of visit: May 2014
Thank Yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

First, contrary to another review posted here, this restaurant does not have a monopoly for food service at the main harbor on the Island of Kalamos. Excellent and reasonably priced food is available at Porto Kalamos. There is also Il Panino which serves crepes (salty and sweet), waffles, sandwiches, ice cream and a variety of beverages. Other restaurants exist but getting to them requires a walk up the steep roadway from the harbor.

George's offers good Greek home style cooking if you choose things liked chicken, souvlaki, pastitsio, moussaka, and stuffed tomatoes/peppers. The Greek village salad (horiatki salad) and appetizers like taramosalata (a fish roe pate-like dish) are good. I would not recommend the fish as it is sometimes frozen (not fresh).

The cooks are quite competent and the wait staff very hard working. But this is a tourist restaurant and you will find that few locals eat here.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Of all the restaurants in the Greek resorts we have visited Georges Taverna was the least enjoyable. Unfortunately they have no competition and therefore a take it or leave it attitude. Although we visited in October it was very busy and you needed to reserve a table to ensure eating at a time to suit. Maybe it was the end of a busy season and the staff needed a break, not a disastrous meal but certainly not up to the standard we are used to enjoying when in Greece both in food quality or service.

1  Thank Bigbadbaz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Maria and her staff were working very hard on a hot, humid, August evening to satisy the thirst and hunger of a harbour full of yachties - at least three flotillas in. Great atmosphere, great traditional Greek food. Only downside was the excruciating traditional Greek chairs. Still they stop folk lingering and make way for late arrivals at this deservedly popular taverna.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank derekthecleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed George's Restaurant also viewed

Kalamos, Ionian Islands
Kalamos, Ionian Islands
 
Kalamos, Ionian Islands
Kalamos, Ionian Islands
 

Been to George's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.