We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Simon

A long weekend of calm before the storm!

Review of Paramata Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 May 2020
We had booked in Papamata Lodge with Kathy and Neil before the Covid lockdown started and were fortunate to stay with them in the last days of "life before lockdown". Kathy was away and kindly let us stay at Paramata, Neil who apparently doesn't normally do too much with guests has been hiding his light under a bushel. We had such a great time, chatting and learning about the area and life on the west coast, Neil's sculptures are original, inspirational and tactile. Ask Neil to take you round the garden and beach, you may even meet Cedric (don't ask!) we felt truly at home.
To say that Paramata is comfortable is an understatement, such thought has gone into the design and building of everything that everything is perfect down to the finest detail, wood everywhere, much of it reclaimed reflects Kathy and Neil's attitudes to life and the environment. A large open plan kitchen and living room where we were made to feel very much at home. Comfortable bedroom with large comfortable bed and large bathroom allowed us to relax wonderfully. The library with a huge range interesting books is a great plus.
We spent our lockdown in New Zealand in Blenheim but could have been equally comfortable here.
It is worth a trip down the west coast just to go to Paramata.
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paramata, Owner at Paramata Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 16 Jun 2020
Dear Simon and Anne
I should have thanked you sooner for this wonderful review that you have most thoughtfully written. Wasn't it funny how well this all turned out for all of us! I was sad that I missed you after hearing about the good time Neil had and how nice you guys were! That will teach me for going travelling and leaving him behind!

We are currently wondering what has happened to you. Are you still in NZ and still in Blenheim? We'd love to hear from you.

We're open again for business now after the lockdown. As you can imagine having loads of outside jobs to do, lockdown was easy and productive without any interruptions. Guests are now trickling back and they continue to love the place, while we enjoy the stimulating conversations they bring. Who knows how it will go. We are lucky to be able to be flexible and have no great concerns. We wish the same for you.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to hearing from you.
Kathy....... & Neil

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
9.0 km from Paramata Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
9.0 km from Paramata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$233
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $233
31.2 km from Paramata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$154
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
31.4 km from Paramata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $142
  • eDreams
31.3 km from Paramata Lodge
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $150
31.5 km from Paramata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$135
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $135
31.4 km from Paramata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$158
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $158
31.6 km from Paramata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Jade Court Motor Lodge
$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $150
31.8 km from Paramata Lodge
Free parking
Room service
$158
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $158
32.2 km from Paramata Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Ross
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
56
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand south island kathy hosts accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2019

Kathy and Neil are gracious hosts who have a beautiful property! The home is comfortable, clean, and full of unique artwork created by Neil. Kathy and Neil made us feel welcome and provided wonderful recommendations of places to explore so we could get a good sense of the highlights in the area. We especially enjoyed our day hike with Kathy. Being unfamiliar with the plants and animals of NZ, Kathy was able to answer all of our questions throughout the day. We enjoyed having Kathy cook a delicious meal for us the first night we arrived, and breakfasts were a treat as well. We enthusiastically recommend Paramata Lodge!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank injbhgyhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2019

We stayed for 2 nights in late November 2019 and had a wonderful stay. Kathy was a gracious hostess. Property was spotless, beds and rooms were comfortable
Thank you Kathy for making our visit to New Zealand extra special

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Max2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2019

Paramata Lodge is absolutely beautiful! We really enjoyed our time getting to know Kathy, lounging in the sun on the deck and exploring the property and nearby native bush. The best part was taking a sunset walk on the beach where we spotted a seal fishing in the surf.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveNZCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

Beautiful home, so clean and welcoming. Kathy took us out on the creek and walked through her garden, sharing all her knowledge of the area, landscape and plants. We sat by the fire then enjoyed a fantastic home cooked meal with her and her husband. Everything was home grown and hand made, down to the granola and yoghurt for breakfast the next morning. Can't fault this place!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Amcgb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2019

We stayed for a couple of nights in this lovely lodge surrounded by beautful landscape , birds and farm animlas. The rooms are spacious and have great views back to the Alps.

We enjoyed an in house farm fresh dinner on our first night sharing table chat with Kathy & Neil.

We also enjoyed our lovely farm fresh breakfasts with Kathy and had a good old chat about shared interests.

A lovely start to our NZ holiday

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francophile447
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews