We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hans

Pristine paradise

Review of Paramata Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jan 2019
If you are looking for peaceful place to pass a few relaxing days, either to enjoy unspoiled West Coast nature or as a base for day trips to sample the exceptional tourist attractions within one or two hours drive, this is the place to choose. Blending into pristine near-by native bush with active bird life; a five-minute walk to enjoy kilometers of white-sand beach all by your own; unobtrusive, but interesting and knowledgeable hosts with whom to share excellent dinners with ingredients grown on site; quiet, pleasant, top-notch, spacious rooms with firm beds. What more can you wish for? We enjoyed it twice and plan to be back.
Date of stay: December 2018
Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have mountain and bush view.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $168
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Vio.com
    $168
9.0 km from Paramata Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
$150
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Vio.com
    $150
  • eDreams
    $150
9.0 km from Paramata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$368
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $368
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from Paramata Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Facade/entrance
$134
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $134
  • Agoda.com
29.9 km from Paramata Lodge
Double bedroom
$105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    $105
  • eDreams
    $105
  • Booking.com
31.3 km from Paramata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
A True Hokitika Gem over looking the Hokitika River
$82
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $82
  • Vio.com
    $82
  • ZenHotels.com
31.3 km from Paramata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$240
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $233
  • Vio.com
    $202
  • Agoda.com
    $213
31.2 km from Paramata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$209
  • Agoda.com
31.4 km from Paramata Lodge
$178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Expedia.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $175
31.4 km from Paramata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Official Site
    $142
  • eDreams
    $150
31.3 km from Paramata Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Ross
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
56
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand south island kathy hosts accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

We arrived at this amazing lodge whilst it was raining after quite a long car journey and were warmly welcomed by Neil and Kathy into their amazing home.
We felt immediately at home too - the house was set within a beautiful landscape of bush, fruit trees, veg patches with streams cross crossing throughout.
We could hear the waves of the sea only a 15 minute walk away which sadly we didn't do on our short visit.
Neil is a sculpture and his work was scattered around their home and garden.
Kathy was an excellent house ensuring we had a meal which was delicious and breakfast - the best of my stay in NZ.
Best of all Kathy and Neil themselves - warm, welcoming down to earth we loved hearing about their lives.
It was a joy to stay here and we sincerely hope we can revisit.
All the facilities were superb- beautiful bedroom with large ensuite
Every room different with books to read and wonderful views out of every window
Thankyou xx

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sp1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Hi,
When travelling the West Coast this is the ideal place to stay.

Awesome location and most beautiful home. Your hosts will spoil you and make you feel relaxed and rejuvenated.

Dinner and breakfast were served with a friendly ease with all dietary requirements catered for.

Going for a walk around the grounds was special.

Enjoy the experience.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnjoanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2018

We would gladly return to Paramata Lodge. It is a beautiful home, extremely comfortable rooms, fine food, and what a wonderful location, proximate to the beach. The hosts are warm, interesting, and fun. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Beautiful accommodation with wonderful views, very comfortable , excellent food. Kathy and Neil are great hosts and very informative about the area for visiting as well as the local ecology. We stayed 2 nights as part of a tour of South Island a highlight for us.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Williams75351
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Paramata Lodge is a truly amazing place. It is easy to access, just a few km. off the main highway; but it has a feeling of isolation and peacefulness. The Lodge is open and luxurious, with guests having access to numerous quiet sitting areas, a well stocked library, open decks, and spacious grounds. We opted to have Kathy prepare our dinners for us the two nights we were at the Lodge. She is an exceptional cook. They also have a well-stocked cellar of beer and wine for purchase. Kathy was also our guide for a day tour which included a walk through their wild but beautifully manicured gardens, a short kayak trip, a long walk along a remote beach, and a fascinating hike through an adjacent nature preserve. She shared her knowledge and love of this place and this land with enthusiasm, insight and wisdom. Two nights at this beautiful place was delightful, but three or four nights would have certainly been preferable. We traveled in NZ for four weeks - this was by far the best place that we stayed.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ksmerrill625
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews