We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
super friendly miners and cool hut!

super awesome and unlike Pat K says they are the complete opposite of "grumpy, ill-mannered old men... read more

Reviewed 23 April 2022
lewis_pluto
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Always fun to visit

Explore some gold mining history by dropping in to The Bearded Miners. They are always so... read more

Reviewed 4 January 2022
adwadw
,
NZ
Read all 42 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
26
10
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
26
10
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews these guys men hut gold mining
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2022

super awesome and unlike Pat K says they are the complete opposite of "grumpy, ill-mannered old men and a poor advertisement for tourism", they were very willing to talk and told wonderful stories. When we were about to leave one of the friendly miners we were talking to showed us some gold worth $500 which was very cool.

Date of experience: April 2022
Thank lewis_pluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2022

Explore some gold mining history by dropping in to The Bearded Miners. They are always so knowledgeable and cheerful.

Date of experience: January 2022
1  Thank adwadw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2021

Wonderful tales of the 1870s from knowledgeable folks. Really fascinating to learn about miners from the day. Thanks!

Date of experience: October 2021
2  Thank ljkenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2021

My friend and I went there today, we were very impressed with the friendliness, warmth and knowledge of the nice men who brought a part of the history of Reefton to life for us. Thank u guys!

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank Fireflied
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

We visited here on a cool, drizzly Anzac Day.

They had a lovely fire going and were only too happy to tell us about the replica miners but, and the mining in the area.

Well worth a visit

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank SandraR8428
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews