We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
Hotels.comUS$61
CheapTicketsUS$61
eDreamsUS$58
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
20
16
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
20
16
6
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here as a stop off on our way to do the Able Tasman Great walk. This was the perfect stop after driving 6 hours from central Otago. We only needed to drive another 3 hours the next morning to start our tramp. The old nurses guesthouse was well equipped for basic needs. The host was very nice and helpful. We had the whole guesthouse to ourselves due to the off season! Bed was comfortable. And shower had amazing pressure. Was walking distance to the small town. We walked to the pub and then to the cute cinema to see a movie. I loved it! My partner was originally freaked that the place might be haunted haha but we both enjoyed our stay. From a nurse myself I would have loved to live their back in the day. Thanks for the stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Voyage546672
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldn, Manager at The Old Nurses Home Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review it is much appreciated. Yes it is a nice place to stay during the off season, very quiet.
We are glad you enjoyed the facilities here and we hope to see you back some day.
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We ended up here on a cool night, and the place was very warm and inviting. Rooms were a decent size with comfortable beds. Nice quite place with good kitchen facilities and a good sized lounge. Pretty good value for the price.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Doublenaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldn, Manager at The Old Nurses Home Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thanks for your kind review - we are glad you enjoyed the facilities here during your stay. Yes it's a lovely warm building on a cool night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve booked one night in a queen room and they kicked us out this morning when we were about to have our breakfast.
We’ve booked this room just because they have a good reputation on their reviews and we were driving the whole day, so we were looking for a comfy option. But it was a terrible experience. The place looks like an old creepy hospital with the wood creaking and the lights all off by 9:40pm, when we got there. There was no one at the front door, we rang the bell several times and also called the number it was in the sign (7328881) and the other in their own flyer that was on the table (37328881) but no one answered. We even booked saying that we were about to get there close to 10pm and to let us know where they would leave us the key. I’ve found an open room after a while trying to find someone and decided that it was ours for the night even we had no key and no wifi and no contact with anyone from the hotel.
We had a bad night of sleep because my girlfriend was scared with the spiders in every corner of the room and bathroom. It was the perfect scenario for a horror movie. In the morning we were about to have our breakfast and the owner surprised us saying we haven’t called, calling us liars and dumbs cause the right number wasn’t the one in the sign nor the folder, that we were supposed to know it has an 0 before the number 3. When I said that we gonna write bad reviews, he kicked us out saying he would call the police on us. What a nightmare! I’m sorry I didn’t take that many pictures but I didn’t know we were about to be kicked out.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank danielcportero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldn, Manager at The Old Nurses Home Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

You were asked to leave the premises on Wednesday 18th of April at 10:15 am (which is 15 minutes after check-out time). The reason you were asked to leave was because it was after Check-out time of 10:00am, but more so was due to your threatening and aggressive nature. Further in regard to your threats to staff concerning overcritical revue content and what terrible revues you will write about the Old Nurses Home. None of our staff need to endure your aggressive behaviour. Our staff advised that the police would be called if you failed to leave, and you chose to leave eventually.
Check-in and Check-out times are 2pm and 10am respectively.

We received no emails or messages up to last check at 8.30 pm.
We handle late night check-ins of guests on weekly basis and we have a reception bell which is used to alert staff of arrivals throughout the building. That bell is monitored 24/7. The bell has been checked and tested since your stay and was in 100% working order.

We also have a local telephone line which is diverted to our staff - No calls were made to either the landline number or the cell number it is diverted to. We leave a local landline phone available in the reception area which dials direct to local numbers - no calls were made from this phone. On our flyer the phone number listed is +64 3 732 8881 not 3 732 8881 as you very incorrectly describe.

Arriving at a hotel at 10pm in the evening without having phoned ahead to confirm and advise of your VERY LATE arrival is in fact questionable - particularly when we advise that we close at 8:30pm.

Regardless, we don't like your attitude and we don't want your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Right, this will come under a budget room, it's not five star, it's probably not four, or three, but, I LIKED THIS PLACE. it has a sense of history, and purpose. The bathrooms, showers and kitchen area are shared, but I found the whole experience of being there absolutely spot on. Quite a different mix of people there, me, a solo woman traveller, a young girl from Japan, a couple of australian guys on a fishing trip, those were just the ones I spoke to. it's not a young and trendy place, for which i was thankful, as i'm not longer young, and not particularly trendy. :) Clean, Affordable, Good staff, felt safe. Good location as you're travelling south to explore.

Room tip: there aren't any particularly good views to be had, i'd just settle for the fact that you got a good deal.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi111_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldn, Manager at The Old Nurses Home Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thank you Fi111_13 for your review, your comments are appreciated. Yes, we have a diverse group of visitors that stay in the Old Nurses Home these days - as you have noticed. We do our best to please all in providing good quality accommodation at a reasonable price.
Thank you we hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We stayed here to escape the torrential rain and it was a lovely place for some home comforts. There were only three others staying in this sprawling place at the time so we had fully run of the well stocked kitchen and full control of the tv remote in the very comfortable living room with satellite. The rooms are pretty functional but comfortable and the shared bathrooms are clean although the showers could pack a bit more of a punch.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank RollingWithTheStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews