We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
29
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect stay fantastic hosts yogurt new zealand property accommodation guests comfort auckland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2019

We had a wonderful 2 night stay with Julie and Bryan in the fabulous new home.
Great relaxing accommodation tucked under the hill with beautiful views.
Superbly located to enjoy the many glorious activities that the area has to offer.
Wonderful hosts who made you feel like their house was yours to enjoy.
Yummy breakfast thanks Bryan and great conversations...

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendywoo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Anderson-Johns, Owner at Waimahu Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

It is our absolute pleasure hosting our guests in our purpose built home. We have achieved our goal if you feel that the house is yours to enjoy. So pleased you took advantage of all this area has to offer and just as importantly you relaxed. Yes Bryan certainly does cook a delicious snack, and our breakfast conversations are always enjoyable.
Thank you for taking the time to review waimahu Retreat.
Ka Kite
Julie and Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019

Literally everything! Julie and Bryan were perfect hosts. They welcomed us warmly with a nice cool drink on the terrace and lovely conversation. Julie even gave us a jar of delicious homebacked cookies. We felt like we were visiting family or longtime friends! Our room and the house were spotless and very comfortable. They gave great tips for activities and a nice dinner spot in nearby Matakana, a lovely little town surrounded by wineries. The breakfast Julie and Bryan cooked was delicious (specifically 'Bryan's stack'!). We were sad we had only booked one night. I recommend staying longer!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joostkla162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Anderson-Johns, Owner at Waimahu Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

It was marvellous having to to stay with us and we were also sad that you were only with us for one night. Yes, this area really does merit a 2/3 night stay. Thank you for your extremely positive review which just makes us feel that we are achieving our aim to have our guests feel at home, relaxed and be very comfortable with their accomodation. Yes, Bryan stack is to be recommended. Delicious and good for you.
Ka Kite ano
Julie and Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2019

We had a fantastic two night stay at Waimahu Retreat. Excellent location - close to Matakana, wineries, stunning regional parks and to top it all excellent hosts Julie and Bryan who made us feel so very welcome. The bedroom with en-suite was perfectly equipped and the guest lounge a good place to relax after a long day out. Breakfasts were excellent and Bryan’s homemade bread and Julie’s homemade cookies are not to be missed. They gave great advice on where to visit from local cafes to walks with great views. Thank you for making our weekend a very memorable one.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ruthy2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimahu, Owner at Waimahu Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2019

Dear Ruth,
Thank you for your review. We were very happy to host you and enjoyed your company very much.
We love advising our guests as to places that will be of interest to them. There is so much to see and do in this area, that a two nights stay is the minimum to be able to take in the highlights. Scandrett's and especially Tawharanui Regional Park are considered to be two of the best in New Zealand.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the facilities that Waimahu Retreat provide as we work hard to continually improve comfort and quality for our guests.
We look forward to hosting you again when you are next wanting to visit the Matakana Coastal area.
Kindest regards, Julie and Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

My partner and I needed a break from our daily work lives...and surely we did get an amazing experience. The hosts Brian and Julie were very friendly and welcoming. We were welcomed with fresh lime on our arrival. They both had great knowledge about the area and guided us on some amazing places to visit and referred some outstanding wineries. The location of Waimahu was just what We wanted and the views were breathtaking, we woke up each morning with spectacular views, the linen in the room was world class clean neat and well equipped rooms. Highly recommend this place for a gateway and such a lovely experience. Thank you Julie and Brian for your amazing hospitality and will surely come again.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dornford_goves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimahu, Owner at Waimahu Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2019

Dear Dornford and Raj,
We loved having you to stay. You are a delightful young couple and really enjoyed our conversations. So pleased we were able to offer just what you were needing. We loved that you took advantage of the pergola and sat enjoying the views as the sun set. Thank you for your support of us as hosts and the positive feedback for what has been our goal. A peaceful, top quality hosted Bed and Breakfast. We look forward to your return visit.
Love Julie and Bryan xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018

Stunning location close to Matakana. A fabulous place to base yourself from if you want to experience all that's on offer in the area. Our hosts were absolutely outstanding. The accommodation is superb, the views from the property are exceptional and the regional park just 5 minutes drive from the property provides a fabulous opportunity to experience New Zealand native flora and fauna at its very best.

Julie and Brian make you feel truly welcome ... when we pulled into the driveway my husband said "it feels like we are home" - what more could you want!

Room tip: Each room has ocean views
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workhardlivewell018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimahu, Owner at Waimahu Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2019

Loved having you to stay and thrilled you took advantage of what the area has to offer. Really appreciated your positive feedback that lets us know we are on the right track. Already looking forward to your return!!
Love Julie and Bryan xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews