We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful little tearoom”

Harts Vintage Tea Rooms
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Newport
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Visited today with friend to learn the tearoom had new owners and it was their first day of business. We both enjoyed a lovely lunch consisting of an all day breakfast and a serving of French onion soup with a ciabatta sandwich of warm chicken, brie and cranberry relish. The produce was fresh, good quality and beautifully cooked. The owners were friendly and obliging. We will be returning and would highly recommend this tearoom.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tearoomaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

I visited this lovely tea room a very warm and helpful greeting by staff on entry service excellent food amazing, salmon fish cakes I’ve never tasted anything as good as these before. Staff are happy and smiling . A definite visit is recommend if you visit Newport

1  Thank calemera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We visited on a dull Thursday afternoon having noticed the tearoom on St Mary’s cobbled street before but never been to get a table as this tearoom has always been busy. The team room is entered by climbing a few steps. We sat at a table for three and after a quick look at the menu ordered tea for two, a cold soft drink and three scones with jam and butter. The gentleman that took our order made us feel welcomed and did not rush us to make a decision. The tearoom was quiet and relaxing with only two other customers although this was short lived with more customers popping in during our visit. The decor was simple. We waited for a while after our order had been taken and wondered why. The drinks arrived followed by warm scones – the reason why the delay and such a pleasant surprise. The scones were large and home baked each served with little pots of butter and jam. Freshly brewed tea served in a selection of vintage china cups with proper milk and sugar cubes. This was a very relaxing afternoon break and one which we hope to repeat again soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Acorns323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fusion1966, Owner at Harts Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank You for your review, we are pleased that you had a nice experience, hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Came here for breakfast whilst visiting family, waited 40 minutes until our food came then parts of the order were missing, won't be eating there again and was over priced for sandwiches

Thank tgirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fusion1966, Owner at Harts Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for your review, during very busy times customers do have to wait a little longer for their food as we do cook everything from fresh this is highlighted on our menu I am sorry about your wait but we really do our very best to deliver good quality fresh food to our customers.
In relation to our sandwiches being overpriced I feel that £3.75 to eat a sandwich in on china plates with napkins is very reasonable for roast beef horseradish & creme fraische and fresh salmon and cream cheese all served on fresh white tin or granary bread.
It would of been helpful to all concerned if you had mentioned at the time that items were missing from your order as we could of rectified the problem there and then but nothing was mentioned when staff did table checks, not sure how we could of helped you if we didn’t know about it. All said and done we make mistakes sometimes but it would of been nice if we had the opportunity to resolve any issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

I live in Newport and have often passed by but never ventured in until today. Very impressed by the service and the food and drinks on offer. Although I only had a bacon sandwich (bostin) I saw others eating and enjoying their choices. I'll definitely be returning for the breakfast MEAL.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fusion1966, Owner at Harts Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Graham, thank you for taking the time to write a review, I will pass your comments on to the staff that we're working that day. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harts Vintage Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Newport, Shropshire
Newport, Shropshire
 

Been to Harts Vintage Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing