We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheese scone to drive for”

The Duke's Roadhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Mangaweka
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 January 2024 via mobile

A perfect spot for a pooch pitstop, made even better by one of the best cheese scones I’ve ever had - and I’m a connoisseur. Properly toasted and crunchy with real butter … almost worth a daily commute from the capital for.

Good coffee, my husband had a great mince and cheese pie, and our two dogs had a sunny break on the grass. This will definitely be our SH1 go-to from now on.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank redheadroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2023

Since discovering the dukes roadhouse we always look forward to stopping on our trips. Great selection of food. Today we had kedgeree and a lamb pie which were both delicious. Friendly and efficient service

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MAVDBroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2023

Great coffee and delicious food. We arrived shortly before closing and they still welcomed us warmly and didn’t rush us. Hope to visit again on our next road trip.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2023 via mobile

Stopped enroute from Wellington and had to charge our Tesla. The staff were friendly and allowed to use the toilet. A nice warm fire helped us to stay warm and order counter food. The kids toy area was great and we had to drag our one year old from there. The toilets weee nice and clean with comfortable change table for the baby. Would stop again definitely next time.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank thiszfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2023

Lovely place to stop & recharge (both the car and ourselves). Friendly, helpful staff, great food and coffee and, to cap it all off, dog friendly! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to The Duke's Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.