We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over and above service ...”

The Duke's Roadhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Mangaweka
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 May 2021

Driving from Waiouru to the Wairarapa I ran out of petrol at Mangaweka having forgot to fuel up at Taihape. The café front-of-house employee kindly messaged the local community asking if anyone could assist, and a 'yes' reply came in within ten minutes. The gentleman turned up with a jerry can and around 5 litres of 91, and all he sought in return was a coffee and mashmellows - and we made a new friend sitting in the sun having a chat. We also purchased a jar of the cafe's homemade 'The Dukes of Sandwich" beetroot chutney. I can't recommend the café and community enough :)

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Service
Thank C3294BZmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2021 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff, great food and a really pleasant cosy spot to stop and refresh or enjoy a sunny day😊

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Alfie2032014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2021

We were surprised!! Great home made food and excellent service. Excellent vegan options. Thank you so much!!!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Neswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

We have stopped here four times after it was recommended. Food is all home made and fabulous. Coffee excellent. As are griddle toasted cheese scones!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Shona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

Excellent food in generous portions served with a smile. Service a bit slow but worth the wait. Will certainly call in again.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank spgdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to The Duke's Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.