We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bank Top Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Very comfortable King bed with lots of storage.
The sea view balcony from the open plan lounge & kitchen area.
Enjoy the sea view from morning to night.
The snowy balcony in January.
You can open the bi-folding doors to welcome the outside in.
Even grey days look brilliant from Bank Top Cottage's balcony.
The cottage is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the sea view.
The Aurora Borealis viewed from the balcony!
Rainbow over Bank Top Cottage's balcony.
Bank Top Cottages balcony from the outside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cresswell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
michael h
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

One of the best locations we have stayed in, right on seafront the Thursday we were there was the day storm Doris struck, was sat in chair barely 30 feet from crashing waves was spectacular. The cottage itself was lovely well furnished and very clean, it was very warm thanks to to underfloor heating. Great bottle of wine waiting for us nice touch. Cresswell is in a great position to visit many of the northeasts tourist attractions like alnwick castle, bamborough and also smaller but interesting places like amble and alnmouth. We would definitely recommend Box top cottage to any one wanting a peaceful break for two in northumberland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review, it was a pleasure having you stay. I'm sure the view was spectacular during storm Doris! I hope we can welcome you back to Bank Top Cottage again.
Best wishes,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehcoll
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rest&recuperate”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Beautiful cottage. Perfect for restful break. No WiFi no distractions just walks on the amazing beach. Slight hum from the boiler in bedroom not ideal but wasn't as bad as us insomniacs thought it would be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad you had a restful break in Bank Top.
Kind regards, Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darron J
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at the Bank Top Cottage in beautiful Cresswell. Fist of all the booing process was simple and so easy to complete. The directions to the cottage were very clear and easy to follow. The Cottage itself was stunning. It was in a prime location overlooking the beach and North East coast with views out to nearby Islands. The views are unrestricted and the decking area is private. The Cottage itself has everything you would need for a nice break in the UK. The underfloor heating gives a warm and welcoming feel on a freezing November day. Watching the world pass by from the huge windows in the sitting room was an absolute pleasure. The bed is very compatible with pristine bedding and the bath with overhead shower is huge and also spotless. The kitchen had everything needed from cooker to wine cooler and all the cutlery and glasses etc you can possibly need Parking is at the side of the Cottage and there are local shops a few miles away as you enter the village. The welcome from the owners was fantastic and so friendly. We did not hesitate in booking again for May 2017 and will try to fit a small break in between. I would recommend trying it out of yourself if quiet ,peaceful break beautiful views is your thing. It was an absolute pleasure to have stayed at Bank Top Cottage and we cant wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
This is so wonderful to read, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay at Bank Top. We're so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and we can't wait to greet you back next year!
Best wishes, Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marge W
1 review
“Delightful retreat for two”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Always good to return to Northumberland, this time in the south of the county. Really comfy cottage and with a location that gives amazing views over the rocks and the water. There is much to see in the county but with such lovely accommodation, it's also good to stay in and either watch the water or, when the tide is out, watch the birds on the rocks below.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Sofa not comfy - bit low too. Would have appreciated provision of salt & pepper
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you so very much for giving us this lovely review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay in Bank Top and enjoyed watching the ever-changing views.
Best wishes, Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarjorieW...
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We celebrated our 56th wedding anniversary at Bank Top Cottage and enjoyed every minute. The view is fantastic and spotting the different sea birds gave added interest. This is an excellent property with all creature comforts including a very comfortable bed; good seating in the lounge area and everything meticulous. Having not been to the area for a number of years it was good to visit Lindisfarne; the Alnwick Book Exchange and - a new attraction for us - the Woodhorn Mining Museum which houses the Ashington Group paintings. Very well worth a visit - and we saw a red squirrel in the grounds there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation and ambience
Liked least: Shower over bath - as we are ancient
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
This is such a lovely review of Bank Top, thank you both! Congratulations again on your anniversary, it's such a great milestone. There really are so many attractions in the county, it's hard picking only a few. I hope I can welcome you back in the future.
Take care,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing