We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slaley Hall(Slaley)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$405
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Beamish Park Hotel(Marley Hill)
US$95
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Farm Hotel(Gateshead)
US$87
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$111
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Close House Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,541)
Filter reviews
1,541 results
Traveller rating
696
511
175
91
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
696
511
175
91
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsderwent manortwo double bedsleisure facilitiescourse mealon arrivalfunction roomgrand halllovely hotelrestaurant staffgroupon dealbar mealssauna and jacuzzithree coursesevery member of staffwedding venueroom was largelovely setting
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,541 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Derwent Manor on a Bed, breakfast and Evening meal visit on 20th April. The hotel has been refurbished since our last visit. Our room was large and beautifully furnished. It also had a modern coffee machine and a large television attached to the wall. The bathroom had a large walk in shower and the water was always hot.

The meals were lovely, always hot and dinner was beautifully presented. Breakfast was buffet style, and there was plenty of choice.

The gym and swimming pool was inclusive of our tariff. As our room was not ready on our arrival, we were advised that we were eligible to use the swimming pool and/or gym.

All in all a lovely stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Derwent. We are very happy to read that you had an "excellent visit"

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spend a lot of time at this hotel, we eat here regularly and love the place, good quality food, lovely helpful friendly staff. We joined the health club and gymn, its all ok apart from some policies they have. If your a guest you can have a towel when you go in, but if your a fully paid up "unlimited member" of the health club, you cant have a towel. This policy seems rigidly enforced, but other policies and safety points are very relaxed or ignored, guests can come in with litre bottled of gin, bottles of wine, wine glasses and stuff like that, pretty dangerous practice round a swimming pool.
I think the towel policy is totally unfair, even if there is a full rack of towels and the place is empty "Computer says NO"

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted to read that you eat and use the facilities of the hotel and overall you "love the place"

As a hotel we do not allow any form of glass to be taken poolside and I apologize if this has happened as it is something we would not advocate or allow had we been aware. Unfortunately the towels provided are for the use of hotel guests only and not to the general leisure club members. I am not aware of any leisure club who provides towels to its non residential guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming to Derwent in the near future.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

surprised to receive an upgrade to one of the cottages on site.They were spacious and very clean,your own kitchen and a reception room plus two bedrooms.
Accommodation adjacent to the swimming pool and sauna.
Only downside we thought that the decor of the rooms in the hotel were very dark ,we thought that a more neutral colour would have brightened up the rooms.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review delighted that you enjoyed you recent stay with us and you were surprised to be upgraded.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Drove up for nephew's wedding. Lovely venue, very nice staff ..nothing too much trouble. Wedding lunch was fantastic ..we've all had poor food at functions but this was first class...
We stayed three nights and enjoyed the pool and sauna.
Very nice staff, helpful and friendly...that's Geordies for you....! What I particularly liked was that they were 'themselves'...nothing false or forced. Example...we asked for coffee but the bar was setting up. A lovely member of staff looked for us 10 minutes later to bring our coffees...a nice and welcome touch. The hotel is big enough to absorb a number of functions without noise annoyance. Our room was large, bright and airy.
Will return when visiting family.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review it is so pleasing to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, I will certainly pass your kind words to all of the staff and chefs involved.

We look forward to welcoming you to Derwent Manor again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we went for a last minute voucher DBB deal and were delighted with the location, meals and small pool/sauna - not to mention the value - and we send a big thank-you to all the very cheerful and helpful staff; minor quibbles about the recent refurbishment include the frustration of an electric car user that the charging point location doubled as disabled parking bays so were unavailable (and that our in-room coffee machine was unpredictable)... and yes there's _lots_ of stairs, due to the hotel's sloping site!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike2trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased you found our staff be very cheerful and helpful and that you enjoyed our refurbishment. Sadly we do have a lot of stairs but please ask for one of our easy accessible rooms the next time you book and we will be delighted to arrange this for you.

We all look forward to seeing you again very soon at Derwent Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews