We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique property with an amazing view!”

Review of The Windmill

Horning Windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Horning Windmill
Your first view of the Windmill View from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Horning Windmill
Your first view of the Windmill
View from the garden
Dining area
We've made some changes since the 1930's!
Now we're in the 1950's
Horning village green
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew M
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique property with an amazing view!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I, our son and daughter (both teenagers) plus our dog, had a wonderful stay at The Windmill. The location is superb and we spent many hours sitting in the garden enjoying the scenery, boating activities and the wildlife. My son enjoyed fishing and having the shed to store the fishing gear was a bonus. The Windmill conversion is very clever - everything we needed and the property was clean and tidy. Anne ensured everything was in order for our stay – and went the extra mile to help return some items we accidentally left at The Windmill. The location is excellent and also convenient – Horning is a lovely village, with a deli, restaurants, pubs, post office/convenience store, etc., all within a short walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and staying in such a unique property.
Liked least: No wifi - was more of a test for the teenagers, rather than the parents :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locatiom & accomodation
Liked least: Path from car park
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
slideharp
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic, peaceful, and comfortable”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My wife, my sister and I are seniors who wanted to experience the Broads, in my case for the second time in 60 years. The Windmill was ideal being right on the Bure, ideal as a point of departure for a rental boat trip, midway between Norwich and the coast and served by great Horning restaurants. We spent pleasant hours watching boats, geese, herons, and swans.The Windmill is small but well-designed and all the appliances worked perfectly. We were sorry we had to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on the River Bure
Liked least: Poor O2 mobile phone coverage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette F...
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just had the pleasure of being able to stay at 'The Windmill', for long weekend due to owner having a cancellation how lucky were we!. Location is perfect and accommodation is perfectly big enough for 4 adults. It was also spotlessly clean being an important feature to myself and family. It has everything you need for a perfect stay on the broads and is the iconic property along the river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jow2006
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Feel the strains and stresses fade away at The Windmill”
Reviewed 30 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed her at the beginning of July. The view from inside the Windmill and the garden is just beautiful. So relaxing being able to watch the wild life and the boats going by. Feel the stresses and strains of work fade away as the pace of life slows considerably. Hired a boat locally too and we were able to moor right outside and barely used the car all week. It is within a few paces of the Ferry Inn (good carvery) and a short walk to the main village. Windmill itself, small but perfectly formed. Plenty of space for the 4 of us plus dog. And had everything that we needed. Wish we could have stayed for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No access to wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$598
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing