We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
276
183
87
50
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
276
183
87
50
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea winston churchill winter warmer the cliff sea view lookout suite lovely building evening meal cream tea winston room bar menu sunday lunch superior room walk in shower four poster bed night break waiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Took my elderly parents here for afternoon tea to celebrate their wedding anniversary- it was excellent! The best bit was the chef did a separate selection for me as I am diabetic - amazing to be able to join in properly and tuck in without having to worry about what I could eat - thanks so much it really was appreciated

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SJM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 September 2017

May we thank you for taking the time to tell us how impressed you had been after your recent Afternoon Tea experience at the Sea Marge Hotel.

It makes us very proud to read such a wonderful review. Going above and beyond for all of our guests is what we strive for so it was lovely to read that you had been very impressed with the selection that had been presented to you by our chefs for your dietary requirements.

Your feedback id very much appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We arrived on a Sunday and stayed 2 nights. We were greeted at reception by very helpful and friendly staff. Straight off to our room (Room 7). It was magnificent, huge bathroom, 4 poster bed, sofa and chairs and a magnificent sea view. WOW. Downstairs for a little light lunch and drinks. Again the service was brilliant the staff could not do enough. The evening meal in the restaurant was lovely and the service dare I repeat it brilliant!!
The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in.
Everything was 5 star. As I always say on a review would I come again, already looking to book it was fantastic.
The price of the room was free (via air miles) and the costing of 4 evening meals, and a lunch as well as all our drinks £200. Very reasonable as we did indulge (lobster etc.)

Room tip: Room 7 is magnificent
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 September 2017

Thank you very much for such a wonderful and kind review after your recent experience at the Sea Marge Hotel.

We thrive on customers satisfaction so it was so lovely to read that we exceeded all of your expectations whilst staying with us. We always appreciated our guests positive comments and feedback so we can be assured that we are still maintaining the high standard of hospitality and service that we strive for.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for haven chosen the Sea Marge Hotel and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We tried The Sea Marge Carvery as we normally go to another local restaurant. We certainly enjoyed the meal and will be coming back again. The venue is amazing. We had a fabulous table with sea view and great table service from all the waiters. The carvery is done by table and you are called up so it's not busy when you are choosing your lunch.
Great variety of meats and lovely vegetables.

Would highly recommend you try it.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kimborella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 September 2017

May we thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent dining experience at the Sea Marge Hotel.

It is really lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your Sunday Carvery and that you found the the venue to be amazing. It makes us very happy to read such kind words and that you have also recommended the Sea Marge to others guests.

Taking the time to tell us your thoughts is highly appreciated and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We have just returned from a 2 day break here. Lovely room with very comfortable bed. Staff all very friendly and efficient. Food excellent, both breakfast and evening menu.
Liked the old fashioned games on the tables and lack of TV !. Only small complaint was poor Wi-Fi connectivity but seems a general problem in this area. Would certainly visit again.

Room tip: Sea view rooms worth asking for.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peterr0berts50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 September 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sea Marge Hotel.

It was fantastic to read your lovely comments after your recent stay and thank you for noting how comfortable you found your bed to be and how excellent you found the food to be. I am sorry however to read that you received poor Wi - Fi whilst staying with us and would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Your feedback is very important to us so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We have been to the Sea Marge a number of times for lunch, whereas the food is always good, the service is generally poor, yesterday was no exception (14/9/17). For the dessert, coffee and the bill, I had to search the hotel for appropriate staff. We were at table for a simple 2 course lunch from 12.30pm until 2.45pm! Not that time was really a problem, the restaurant is quite a comfortable place to while away a few hours. It's just that when a restaurant is not busy and you do happen to see staff about you cannot help thinking ' well why don't they come a take my order' etc. and frustration takes over.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 September 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sea Marge Hotel.

I would be most grateful if you wouldn't mind getting in contact with me directly so I am able to discuss your experience further by emailing samantha@mackenziehotels.com

Kind Regards

Samantha Forrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews