We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
The entrance to the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The entrance to the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
The entrance to the cottage
The cottages from the garden
Garden and The Borrowers
Supper for two
Your welcome pack
The kitchen
The coffee menu
Soak away the cares of the day!
Bathroom
Relax and watch Phil the resident pheasant from the decking
The old well
Ducks nest here
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alanpartr...
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a quite perfect week at The Borrowers. The cottage is lovely, beautifully decorated and maintained, the bed is the most comfortable I've ever slept in.
Alex and Dalene are the perfect hosts and they have thought of everything. The cottage is really well equipped and we were so pleased with their generous welcome pack. They really couldn't have been more helpful.
The gardens and outdoor spaces provided us with the most relaxing and peaceful environment to enjoy our week away. We can't wait to come back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
It was our pleasure to have you all to stay with us and it makes us very happy to know that we made your stay a special one and that you wish to come back. I really must buy another of those beds for us! Kindest regards and looking forward to seeing you again at Olde Farm. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan h
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Peacefull”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Loved the cottage, the welcome pack was far more than expected, even the bathroom had additional extras, including nail scissors which were a godsend as i split my toenail! Loved the outside area, the grand children visited and ran about for ages in the garden. Found a place that we loved to stay in every time we visit the family here, will be back next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
It was our pleasure to have you to stay and it was lovely to hear and see the grandchildren enjoying the gardens. It makes us very happy when we make someones holiday special and we are so pleased that you want to come back next year and we look forward to seeing you all again. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Perfect holiday, perfect hosts and wonderful accommodation, in fact, the best we have ever had.
Dalene and Alex could not have made us any more welcome. The welcome pack was outstanding.
The gardens were magnificent as were the surroundings and location.
We will certainly return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
It was a total pleasure to meet you all and to have you to stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and that you will be coming back to stay with us again. KIndest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dippytoe
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely lovely”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Gorgeous barn conversion - perfect sized kitchen with all the appliances and tools you could need - we ate in a few times as well as eating out. Lovely bedroom with super king sized bed, a bathroom you would be happy to spend time in, cosy sitting room with home from home tv, and great decking area to sit in the sun. Thank you for the brilliant welcome, for remembering my husband's special birthday with the balloon and gifts, and for all your patience with our enquiries on your styling expertise. It was a great, relaxing weekend - thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Arriving and finding the accommodation was far better than expected!
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
It was a delight to have you both to stay with us and to share in the birthday celebrations, it was my pleasure to share my local shopping secrets with you and we look forward to seeing the end result!! Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What an incredible place. Stayed with my partner for my birthday for 2 nights. After a very stressful year when I haven't been able to get away from 'life' a retreat was very much in order and this is exactly what we found at The Borrowers.
Dalene and Alex are wonderful hosts, friendly but not interfering and couldnt be more helpful.
The cottage has been converted to a very high standard (we wouldn't mind living there!) with all the mod cons you could possibly want and more! The homemade treats were a luxury and there wasn't one thing we cooul possibly have needed that wasn't there.
The heated floors and deep fill bath are a joy and the bed was extremely comfy, we both slept better here than we ever do at home! The surrounding gardens are beautiful and attract plenty of wildlife. We enjoyed trips to the seaside taking us back to places visited in our childhood and also a trip to Thetford Forest for a trail run. There is superb provision here for families wanting to enjoy the forest, walks , runs, mountain biking, Go Ape and a cafe.
There are some pretty villages nearby wit friendly pubs and good food and local shops (short drive) should you need anything.
I would highly recommend this to anyone and everyone needed some relaxation in the countryside. Great area for cycling and will be bringing bikes next time!!!
Thank you so very much for a wonderful stay. You have a real gem there x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail - homemade luxuries
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
Thank you Sarah and we are so pleased that we helped you escape 'life' if only for a couple of days. It makes us very happy when our guests leave relaxed and wanting to return - or in some cases not wanting to leave. We look forward to your return and hearing all about your travels on the bikes. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing