We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful cottage, fabulous welcome pack and...”
other travellers have booked this property
THE BEE'S KNEES
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THE BEE'S KNEES
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
THE BEE'S KNEES
View of the cottage across the gardens
Garden from across the farm pond where Moorhens and ducks nest
View of the cottages across the farm pond
Across the pond in Autumn
Front door - Welcome!
I live next door!
Living area and kitchen
Double Bedroom
View towards the Gazebo
The henhouse
Peacock butterflies are regular visitors
Ducks and moorhens live on the pond
Gazebo in which to enjoy that early evening drink and the last of the suns rays
Picnic overlooking the pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Banham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
h4malky
Fife, Scotland
1 review
“A beautiful cottage, fabulous welcome pack and better than home!”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived after a long journey and straight away were given a tour of the grounds while my children were let loose! First impressions lasted the whole week ... what an amazing place! From the ducks to the wendy house, swings to gazebo, the beautiful decor and full fridge and cupboards, everything was wonderful. My children are 11, 9 and 3. I was a bit concerned about the pond, but it is gated and with the wild ducklings and moorhen chicks I encouraged my kids to give the birds some space. Everything in the house seemed new, was spotlessly clean, comfortable and every need catered for - picnic benches and other outside seating to enjoy the sunshine, toy box, games, dvds and books for the poorer weather. If I can do the journey again from Aberdeenshire I would go back in a flash, Dalene and Alex are the lovliest hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside space was wonderful!
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
It was our pleasure to have you to stay with us and we are so pleased you all had such a wonderful time. It was lovely to hear the children playing in the garden and to see them gain so much simple pleasure from feeding the ducks and moorhens. It is a shame you are so far away from us, but hopefully you will make the journey again because we would love to have you all to stay again. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela A
Lemelerveld, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent cottage, great host and beautiful area”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The day we arrived we get a very warm welcome of Magdalene and Alex. The cottage is just excellent, there is no other word for it, every thing you need or would like to need is available. The garden is wonderful to see and we explored a lot in Norfolk, so we've had a wonderful time.

Thanks a lot for every thing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the interieur of the cottage (bathroom, bedlinnen, tableware etc)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much enjoyed meeting you and sharing the stories of your adventures exploring Norfolk. It gives us great pleasure to know that our efforts to make people feel welcome are a success and hopefully we will see you again here at Olde Farm. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Myself & my partner just wanted a few days away together in some peace & quiet, we got this & a whole lot more at The Bee's Knees.Dalene & Alex were there to greet us & show us round on our arrival, the cottage was immaculate and had everything you could think of that you may need or have forgotten, there was a lovely welcome pack for us with lots of homemade treats. The garden is beautiful with a pond & ducks & chickens. Dalene & Alex couldn't have been more friendly & welcoming, we would certainly return and highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homemade treats
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the cottage gave you the peace and quiet you wanted. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again soon here in our little piece of Norfolk paradise:) Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandamar...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Could not have chosen a more perfect place to stay for our last two weeks in England before we emigrate over to Australia.

The warm welcome you receive upon arrival is wonderful, and you are made to feel welcome for your entire stage.

Darlene and Alex are the perfect hosts and the animals are also ready and waiting for lots of cuddles.

Cannot recommend this highly enough will always have fond memories of our wonderful two weeks spent here.

Thanks you guys

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience was amazing
Liked least: There was nothing at all to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
It was lovely to share your last two weeks here in the UK with you all and we are so pleased that we made it such a happy time for you. If you are ever back in Blighty then our house is your house! Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful with a warm welcome”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of half term with the intention of having some relaxing family time. Th cottage is beautifully presented, with the little details making it by far the best rental we have had. Everything from toys for the kids, well chosen books for all ages and DVDs - up to date ones rather than15 years old makes this a very easy place to stay with children. Add that to an amazing welcome pack, a great coffee machine (much needed the morning after the baby decided it was party time at 3am) and all the kitchen equipment you could need. Our daughter loved playing in the garden, and even bought out her drawing book to draw the gardens and playing boules at every opportunity aswel as feeding the ducks and she was a very happy little girl! In fact dragging her to the zoo one day was seen as less of a treat and more of a duty as she wanted to stay and play games. A beautiful place to stay. If in doubt go.... You won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you, we are so pleased you had such a good time with us. It was lovely to see the children playing in the garden and it makes all the efforts we go to so worthwhile when we make people happy and their stay special. We look forward to seeing you all again here at Olde Farm - next time we insist you use The Smial:) Kindest regards Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing