We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Haven”
other travellers have booked this property
Field House Cottages, front view.  Ours is the the left hand cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Field House Cottages, front view.  Ours is the the left hand cottage.
Looking down the front path at our cottage Cottage seen from the swing seat at the top of the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Field House Cottages, front view.  Ours is the the left hand cottage.
Looking down the front path at our cottage
Cottage seen from the swing seat at the top of the garden
Kitchen
Kitchen looking towards dining-room
Dining room
Dining room looking towards kitchen
Sitting room with wood burning stove
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom window
View from the main bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Single bedroom
View from single bedroom
Bathroom
View from the bath
First floor landing
June flowers along the front path
Evening light at the top of the garden
The sunny terrace at the back of the cottage
The back of the cottage
The wild flower meadow above the cottage
Rufus the Poppy Head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Walsingham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blv153
Sileby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Haven”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from a fantastic break with the family. The cottage is truly idyllic and filled with character. Every room is decorated with quality furniture and original paintings.
The location is perfect to explore all the lovely North Norfolk towns and beaches in the area. Henrietta couldn't have been more helpful as a host, and they were really accommodating letting us bring both our dogs. We would definitely book this cottage again. Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirkiness
Liked least: Wi-fi dropped in and out - but that was negligible
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
So happy that you had a good weekend and enjoyed the cottage.
We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
499gerry
Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great house, wonderful location!”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a wonderful house, clean, comfortable with beautiful artwork on the walls...our children picked a favourite painting every day...one could imagine every artefact has a story behind it! The garden is terrific and the views are lovely. The whole place has a very relaxing feel to it and a perfect place to get away from it all. The location is very good, great base for exploring the North Norfolk coast, particularly the spectacular beach at Wells next the Sea. We had a great week and hope to visit again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
It is so rewarding when our visitors appreciate the paintings and other objects we have collected in the cottage - because we know that everyone has different taste in these things! You are right that there is a story behind most of them. (Some of the paintings are by my great-grandfather, some by my father, some by my brother and some by me... among other artists, known and unknown!) So glad that you all had a good time and I hope we can welcome you on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smc53
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic cottage in idyllic countryside setting”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A delightful cottage, equally functional and comfortable, of intriguing interest in its paintings and furniture, and superbly converted, in keeping with the original style but with all modern facilities Set in idyllic country surroundings, far from busy roads, with its own garden, in a sea of wild flowers, and overlooking glorious rolling countryside this is a perfect family or group getaway. There is a shop and pub within reasonable reach. The cottage is an excellent base from which to explore the nearby magnificent N Norfolk coastline, as well as all other local attractions, and can easily be used for a larger group by also taking the next door cottage, no 3. We took both cottages as the base for ourselves and extended family attending our son’s local wedding; the sheer delight of the accommodation added significantly to our memories of a wonderful week. Henrietta made everything so easy. This is an idyllic base for the country lover wanting to explore the glories of North Norfolk

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thanks for these kind words and we are thrilled that your wedding party went so well, and that the weather was kind to you. We hope to see you again another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H
1 review
“An idyllic place to stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have been holidaying in North Norfolk for over 20 years and this is our favourite place. Peaceful, tranquil and beautiful location and very comfortable and beautifully furnished spacious cottage. The gardens are wonderful and it is close to all our favourite beaches and walks : Sheringham, Holkham, Fellbrigg to name but a few It was such a tonic and we have returned feeling revived after a busy year's teaching in London! It was also really nice that my brother rented the cottage next door at the same time so cousins could spend time together - just perfect, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
We are just delighted that this is your favourite place to stay in North Norfolk and really hope to welcome you back on another occasion!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quirky and Comfortable”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I stayed at the cottage for a weekend with our two grandsons aged 9 and 10 and we loved our time there. The cottage is roomy and well equipped and every room has something interesting to look at with a wide range of paintings and artefacts. The boys slept well in their comfortable twin beds and we too slept comfortably in the large master bedroom. We visited Cromer one day, followed by a really good local event held by model makers which the boys really loved and then went on to the tank museum in Muckleburgh which although more a 'boys' thing was something I too found very interesting. On the Sunday we took a ride on the North Norfolk Railway which runs along the hills overlooking the sea on a day when the sky was a beautiful blue, the wind was ruffling the grasses and the sea looked wonderful - very spectacular. Dave's fish bar, down a side street in Sherringham serves wonderful fish and chips too, so all told a really great weekend. We would definitely recommend the cottage and the area to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner's friendliness and helpfulness was refreshing and supportive.
Liked least: That we didn't have more time there!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Dear Christine, we are so pleased that you had a good weekend here and managed to find interesting things to do with the boys . Thanks for posting about this, most helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing