We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean and spacious, cottage, perfectly located”
other travellers have booked this property
Rufus Cottage, the perfect location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rufus Cottage, the perfect location
The Kitchen/Diner is fully equipped, all white goods and a great 5 ring gas hob and huge oven Study, view through to kitchen diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Rufus Cottage, the perfect location
The Kitchen/Diner is fully equipped, all white goods and a great 5 ring gas hob and huge oven
Study, view through to kitchen diner
The study with games for rainy days
Study; with day-bed under the stairs for a 5th guest if necessary
TV lounge with comfy sofas
TV lounge through to conservatory
The conservatory
Patio with BBQ and fresh herbs in season
Master bedroom; double bed with ensuite shower room
Ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 2: New 1000pocket matress with feather and down duvets
Family bathroom
The New Forest Hotel garden. Perfect for watching the kids play whillst having a drink.
The New Forest Hotel, for when you don't want to cook (pic on a rare snowy day).
Rope swings over the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ashurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fifiti
Rye, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean and spacious, cottage, perfectly located”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Rufus cottage provided everything we were looking for, for our first visit to the New Forest. A well equipped kitchen and comfortable beds with ample space for 4 people to enjoy a weekend, we only wish we didn't have so many commitments and could have spent more time there. The location is ideal, a short drive from Lyndhurst and the quiet station immediately nearby so as to travel to other villages in the New Forest with ease. We found Brokenhurst and Lyndhurst a bit full on with tourists mooching about, it was a joy to soak up the forest yet have our own place to retreat to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Firm and comfortable beds. Great shower.
Liked least: Pillow a little soft for my personal preference.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaureenBi...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious clean comfortable cottage in a convenient location for exploring the area.”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The owner was very helpful with queries and provided good information prior to our visit for access etc.
Generous comfortable living space with 4 areas downstairs, well-equipped kitchen with table and chairs, study with day bed, desk and books etc, living room with settees and TV and conservatory with dining table and chairs. We liked the parking for 2 cars just outside the front door.
The beds were comfortable and we appreciated the separate bathroom and en-suite shower in the master bedroom. There is also a TV in the master.
No need to cook as there is a pub next door and another a short walk away. We are both coeliac so we particularly liked the Compass Inn, Winsor, which is totally gluten-free and only a short drive away.
Just off the main road and next to the station so very easy to get around the whole area and visit the coast. Lyndhurst is just a short drive away and has a large car park next to the New Forest Centre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Fab cottage, fab location, fab holiday!”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a great little cottage - modern, well equipped, nicely decorated and in a great location.
Love the extras that are included such as a dvd player, books and games (and yes we completed the 1000 piece 'Giant Tortoise' jigsaw!!).
When it comes to holiday accommodation I'm generally happy with a comfy bed & a decent shower and this cottage had both.
We are a family of 4 and found the cottage spacious yet warm & cosy.
The pub just next door was lovely - we enjoyed a nice meal there & the people seemed friendly. We also went to The Happy Cheese' which again did decent food (& huge desserts!).
We enjoyed the country walk near Ashurst Farm as well as days at the New Forest Wildlife Park, Paultons Park, & Longdown Activity Farm - all perfect for our children (aged 3 & 1).
I'd highly recommend this cottage - we had a fantastic break!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie L
Halstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“location location location”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a clean, excellently positioned property. Everything we needed was there and so much more too...we had a fantastic time and I can thoroughly recommend Rufus Cottage. Some reviews have mentioned the soft pillows which is true but this is largely a case of personal taste. If you like a firm pillow, perhaps slip one into the car for safety!
We were a little concerned when we discovered that there is a pub on the other side of the car park and wondered whether we would be disturbed at night. But no, all was quiet and the pub sells some lovely food so cooking wasn't a necessity either.
This property "does what it says on the tin" and we loved it. Indeed, we hope to come back again in the future.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epage7
UK
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to go again”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we first enquired about this cottage to the moment we closed the door at the end of our holiday, everything was absolutely perfect.

My husband and I took our dog Oscar. David, the owner had been very helpful prior to our arrival. We asked if he would mind our friends staying for one night during the week. They did not mind at all and even left extra bedding for the day bed.

The cottage is spotless. Everything you needed was provided. Very comfortable beds and good quality bedding. We enjoyed breakfast in the lovely Conservatory.
The Kitchen was very well equipped.

The area was ideal, just a short walk from the New Forest with plenty of open spaces for Oscar. Right next to a lovely pub where we enjoyed a few meals.

We were there mainly to visit friends and family, but did manage to have a couple of days sight seeing and there was plenty to do in the surrounding area.
We will certainly be back next year. Have already recommend the cottage to friends and family.
Thank you very much David and Sara for an excellent stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing