We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to forget life in thr fast lane”
other travellers have booked this property
Undercastle Cottage is situated at the bottom of a woodland track in the heart of the New Forest, fronting the Hampshire Avon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Undercastle Cottage is situated at the bottom of a woodland track in the heart of the New Forest, fronting the Hampshire Avon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Undercastle Cottage is situated at the bottom of a woodland track in the heart of the New Forest, fronting the...
A New Forest watering hole near Bramshaw
Lymington Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Woodgreen, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place to forget life in thr fast lane”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for peace, tranquillity, well away from the hustle, bustle, in a dream location this cottage is for you. I will not describe the cottage and location as it is very accurately covered in the Hideaway description of this property. It topped our expectations in all categories. We booked the second week in in June, weather was sunny and not too warm, being a party of three my better half and her friend both German and myself English (born in the New Forest) all now pensioners. I have lived since 1969 in Germany but each year I like to return to southern England for at lease a weeks holiday. We had the master bedroom in the house and our friend the fisherman's lodge giving us access to separate bathrooms.´The fisherman's` lodge gave a magnificent view from the bed through the panorama window down the river. Over the years I have had many of this type holiday cottage in Cornwall, Devon Dorset, Hampshire and the Isle of Wight. this cottage tops them all. We have all owned horses and it was for us a pleasure to see the New Forest ponies peacefully grazing along the road side. Just sitting on the patio in front of the house watching and hearing the many different wildlife was like living as it must have been in the English countryside a couple centuries ago, fantastic. Our friend was the first time in England, she has fallen in love with the cottage, New Forest and southern Hampshire. For those who want to visit the seaside there are some very good beaches for all tastes within an easy drive. as is with larger towns, Southampton, Bournemouth, Salisbury and Winchester plus many country pubs and villages.
This cottage will be on our list for our next holiday in England. I must give thanks to the owner that such a period tastefully furnished cottage with its truly fantastic location has been created and that it is available for renting
Thank you, Mike Painter

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie P
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tranquility Found!”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a find,If you like technology convenience internet and action don't book.
If you like to switch off get away from it all and absorb yourselves in rural idyll this is the place for you.
Nestled amongst the new forrest with wildlife in abundance this riverside property has the wow factor.
We booked for a small party and dog hoping to fish, kick back and relax and it surpassed our expectations the grounds are beautifully maintained and the comfort level is high the kitchen well stocked for a sous chef and has every nicknack required.

The property consists of three parts the main house a wooden framed thatched property with a luxury bathroom fluffy towels provided, ground floor bedroom good sized kitchen and comfortable lounge with an open fire.The lodge a comfortable twin with shower ensuite facilities and the hayloft a quirky double in the eaves of the garage.The style of furnishing eclectic.

The outside space and dining with a river view with no noise pollution was a highlight as was the many sights of the river the fine specimens of birds the otter and waiting for the cows to come graze on the fields beyond.The lack of wifi means have no choice but to switch off and enjoy your surroundings a big plus.

The local village shop a brisk twenty minutes walk a community project was well stocked with excellent local beef and venison a friendly hub of activity, the village pub similarly and dog friendly a focal point with locals happy to chat about the history of the area and with a good range of local beer, ciders or soft drinks for me as a non drinker.
The dog soon found his way around the area enjoying the sniffs of the forrest as we enjoyed the sights of the wild ponies and the deer he rather enjoyed trying to roll in their poo! A haven for walks and twitchers and history buffs too.A good base for exploring further afield if you wish too we were happy to stay put and enjoy every moment.
The only one big negative-we had to leave .
Thanks to Sharron for all your fishing tips and help with our stay we look forward to our return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Pet Friendly Riverside Cottage”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The first impressions of this property as you arrive are wonderful, and it doesn't disappoint from the first moment to the last.
We stayed for a week as a time to relax following our daughters wedding and it was perfect in every way. Even to the extent that our daughter and new son-in-law were able to spend a few days with us in the separate Fishing Lodge.
The grounds are spectacular with so many different areas for both ourselves and our dogs to enjoy, and a glass of wine on the terrace as the sun sets is a must. Inside and in the separate Hayloft and Lodge, the accommodation is just as described, and the roll top bath in the house is a joy to relax in.
The area has a host of lovely pubs serving great food, and would thoroughly recommend the Village Shop as well.
The cottage was well stocked and with the village shop a 20 minute walk away everything you might need is available.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Six of us stayed here in late April 2017 and the three buildings that make up Undercastle Cottage lived up to their great reputation. Picture-perfect and what a location! The Avon meanders through the garden and the walks through the New Forest on Castle Hill, just yards away, are fabulous in spring. Best of all was the wildlife we saw from the property itself, and its delightful garden - a bird list of 35 species (including Kingfisher, Egret, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Little Grebe, Nuthatch, Cuckoo, Grey Wagtail, large numbers of Curlews, Canada Geese, Swans etc), not to mention the mammals (deer, hares, squirrels, bats) - bring your binoculars (and birding telescope and bat detector, if you have them!)

We had a cold snap and frosts during the week but the underfloor heating in the main cottage was equal to that (it has all the characters one expects of a timber-framed house but is less old than it looks!). We read the information carefully, and therefore knew exactly what to expect (e.g. the bed in the Hayloft has no facilities, though the Fishing Lodge - with its magical view up the river from its twin beds - has a shower/WC, and the main house has two bedrooms with a separate WC from the main bath/WC). Everything was in excellent state of readiness on arrival: perfectly clean, garden lawns newly mowed etc, and the owner most helpfully welcoming. The village of Woodgreen, within walking distance, is pleasant, and has the best stocked community shop we have ever come across.

Definitely recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Simply beautiful. We had a great time. Everything was so tidy and clean. Our three nights stay seemed so short.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing