We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
8
11
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
11
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk grandmother destination visit town
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We were visiting Atripalda for second time, on our way down to Calabria. It is the village of my husband's father. We wandered around, enjoying the historic Center and returned to a restaurant where we had eaten on our first trip. This isn't a typical tourist destination but it is a lovely old town, very friendly people and this hotel fit our needs perfectly. Reasonably priced, clean and comfortable and located very close to the center of town. There is no restaurant or breakfast room but you are given a ticket to take to the Bar for coffee and a pastry. The bar is just steps from the hotel and also a nice place to stop for an aperitif before dinner. We will definitely return. I did not give it 5 stars as it is an older hotel and I don't want people to expect a super modern type of place.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BonnieGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

Entering the hotel feels like stepping into a painting by Hopper, but the receptionist is still smoking and for a non smoker the smell of stail sigarettes is overwelming. The rooms sre very smal, but the bathroom is practical. There is an electric door between the reseption and the rooms upstairs to limit the smoke, but the presensce of used ashtrays in the room indicates free smoking there as well. The beds are comfy, but this place needs a makover.

Date of stay: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristhafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Frank from March 14th to the 16th, a party of six, my sister and her partner, and myself with my husband and kids. We had begun our trip from Rome and were stopping in Atripalda our Grandfathers hometown. As we did not have much information about him or our Grandmother who was from Cessinali, we just came to walk around and see where they came from 100 years ago.
We were greeted with kindness and welcomed to a clean comfortable room. Later in the afternoon I had a conversation with the gentleman who worked at the front desk, as he did not speak a lot of English he used his google translate and asked questions about our stay. I was able to tell him the purpose of our travel and he was able to make us a map of a walking route from Atripalda to Cessinali. Potentially the route our Grandfather might have took to visit our Grandmother. Honestly he made our stay all the better. That map was everything we hoped to do, and filled a lifetime of curiosity of my heritage and where part of my ancestry came from. He was such an extremely kind man, I only wish to have written his name down as my memory for names is short, but for experiences, he created one we shall always remember. Especially when my son was laughing at us all and he typed into his computer," what are you laughing at Mr. Arizona man", then had the computer say it. He really brought smiles to our faces.
Also we had a dilemma for my sister had bought tickets, online, for a Sunday morning train leaving Avellino early in the morning. We were told by people during our stay who worked in the bus station that they did not think such a train existed. The kind gentleman arranged for one of the younger boys to take us to the train station, two trips as we were such a big party, and he would not accept payment. It was there pleasure to help us they said. Truly our hearts felt full having been met with such kindness and warmth. We are so grateful for staying at the Frank Hotel and for the wonderful people who work there. We also loved how close it was to the town square, where one can enjoy lovely foods, pastries, and gelato. We also ate at an amazing slow food restaurant, family owned down the road within walking distance. All this plus the lovely experience at the Frank Hotel made our journey back to our family roots so very special.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews