We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cothill Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Vowchurch, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even better!”
Reviewed 27 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Cothill Barn (my wife says she would like to spend every weekend there) and if anything this stay was even more enjoyable than last year’s, mainly because we enjoyed such fantastic weather. Like most other reviewers we were a large family group (3 generations plus partners and a very happy dog) and the accommodation was perfect for us.
We made good use of the garden this time, and sitting around the fire pit as the sun went down was particularly magical.
We did two lovely walks from the door (to St Margaret’s and Peterchurch) and our favourite ridge walk on the Black Hill nearby. We’d also recommend making an appointment to visit Laskett Gardens which are stunning.
Thank you again Ali and Richard for your hospitality. We hope to be back again before too long.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2018
Thank you for the review. It is great you had the weather to use the fire pit - the sunsets over the Black Mountains are lovely from there. Hope to see you again, Ali & ROB!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Ideal location for family reunion”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Cothill Barn was a great venue for our 15th family reunion. The ambience was ideal for the annual get together of siblings and spouses from Cheshire, Berkshire and Derbyshire. Most had not been to Herefordshire before and the countryside surrounding the Barn highlighted what they had been missing. After our visit to Hay-on-Wye on market day several people said they would have to visit the area again.
The Barn provided extremely spacious and comfortable accommodation and this year's organiser was complimented by everybody for their choice of venue. The welcoming pack of goodies was much appreciated and consumed with relish, particularly the home made jam. The thoughtful use of vernacular materials helped to create the welcoming and comfortable feel of the house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a welcome review. I am so pleased your whole family enjoyed their stay - I know how difficult it is to please a large family group!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisonjun...
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family get together at Cothill barn”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We have just returned from a great weekend at Cothill barn. All our 5 children joined us with various partners. Every room was special. The barn had everything we needed. We cooked in all the time. The days were sent canoeing down the Wye, the evenings were spent relaxing with family uiz time. A great time was had by all. I have already recommended this place to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Thank you for your kind review and for recommending Cothill Barn to friends. The Wye is a great river for canoeing - glad you all enjoyed it, even your dog!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestsB28
Birmingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous place! lovely welcome ”
Reviewed 5 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Visited here with friends over the last weekend in April. There were 15 of us so we hired the barn , stables and shepherds hut. I stayed in the barn but all the accommodation was faultless. Beautifully restored, well equipped, spacious and warm even in the freezing weather!
We have been going away together for years and this equals the standard of anywhere else of this size we’ve stayed.
The welcome baskets with homemade bread, jam and fresh eggs from the chickens around the farm was a lovely surprise and very welcome !
We didn’t venture far but had a takeaway from the local pub, the mill , which was reasonably priced and very tasty.
Overall. Cothill is a fantastic place, would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Thanks for such a glowing review. It was lovely to meet you all - glad you enjoyed the goodie baskets!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanRee
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful barn, brilliantly equipped, fabulous stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We were a party of four adults, three children and a dog. We all had plenty of space, the barn is laid out really well with fabulous rooms. You'll find everything you need from sewing kits to dog towels, books for the children and champagne glasses! There was a lovely welcome basket themed with chocolate Easter treats for us. I couldn't fault anything about our stay which really was a home from home. Our children loved the darts board and our puppy loved the enclosed garden.
The location is great with lots to do nearby and some beautiful scenery. Thank you Ali for a relaxing and wonderful stay. I highly recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
It is really kind of you to leave such a warm review, thank you. I am pleased the children found so much to occupy them - it makes for a much more relaxing holiday for the parents!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing