We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
121
22
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
22
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medieval banquet bunk beds self catering kitchen great fun dressing up clothes on arrival hunting lodge fabulous weekend archery lesson paranormal activity honey cake porter's lodge family room set your expectations banquet meal wooden floors banqueting hall
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Have looked at booking a visit here previously, but was always booked for my available dates. Looked online in March on the off-chance for a one night stay during school Easter holidays as received a discount code from YHA and found a family room available for the Thursday after Easter. Decided to use hostel as a base for a 2 day/1 night family getaway.

On booking, received confirmation email with very useful information and, in addition, email from manager Linda, asking if we wished to attend medieval banquet they were hding that evening.

Thought that this may be fun and also convenient as we would not have to arrange to eat elsewhere (or prepare our own food in the self catering kitchen).

We're so glad we did - if you have the inclination to find out about the fascinating history of the wonderful building you are staying in, and happy not to take yourself not too seriously (dressing up optional but not compulsory) then it makes for a very enjoyable evening.

The price was quite reasonable and the food plentiful and actually very good (even for my 2 fussy squires)

The check-in was efficient, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the builsing itself was fantastic - it was a surprise for our children that they would be staying in a genuine castle and the whole experience was fantastic.

We'd love to do it again at Christmas, but it does (quite deservedly) get booked up well in advance.

Would thoroughly recommend staying in a genuine castle for a very reasonable cost.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We had an excellent stay at St Briavels in February 2018. We stayed in a spacious family room and enjoyed a medieval banquet complete with dressing up. Our daughter (8) was entranced by the host who was also our historical guide. Some areas can be chilly but it’s a 12th C castle so to be expected! A unique experience.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Ditchling101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

My second stay at this YHA. First on Lejog and secondly combining attending the Wales v France rugby match and walking some of the old County tops. Recommended reading 'the heights of madness'. There is also a Cicerone guide book. YHA spot on both trips. Great staff.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Bobee2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We spent the weekend here in beautiful surroundings.

Lovely place to stay if you want to treat someone special or want to treat the kid's where there are lots of dressing up clothes and places to explore!

We went to the medieval banquet which was great fun for everyone and were served mediaeval style food. It was an excellent evening, everyone had a great time.

This is one of the best YHA's we have stayed in.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank quirky-savage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

This is a wonderful place. You walk in through the old gatehouse between the towers and into a real old castle (fortified hunting lodge, apparently). The bedrooms and lounges still retain the feel of being in a castle and it was magical for our children. Staff were great, the village is lovely Forest of Dean attractions are on your doorstep. I can't recommend it enough for families with youngish children.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank DanA050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews