We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and chips”

Railway Street Fisheries
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Pocklington
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped for lunch on Tuesday. The choices are excellent (we don't always get the option of haddock in the midlands and even less in a small portion), the small portion of fish and chips was just right and the mushy peas nice and thick! The staff were helpful and pleasant, will definitely call in when in the area next.

Thank Ariespendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Y, Owner at Railway Street Fisheries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you for such a great review, both myself and staff strive to give the best customer service and produce, and hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018

Got take away whilst visiting for the morning. Perfectly cooked fish and friendly service, drove 7 miles back to where we were staying and they stayed nice and warm.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Y, Owner at Railway Street Fisheries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you Sarah for finding the time to review our business, it is really appreciated, look forward to your next visit when you are in the area again.

Regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

I've been in here several times and the last time was on Saturday lunchtime. The service is very friendly and pleasant, but I've not had anything from this establishment that was anything above ordinary. The fat is too hot and the batter is invariably too crisp/burnt. I won't go here again. The other fish 'n chip place in Pock is better but even then it isn't brilliant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jambomackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Y, Owner at Railway Street Fisheries, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Sir
We are sorry that the quality of our product did not meet your expectations, however let me assure you that we fry at the optimum temperature to allow the fish to cook and the batter to be crisp and not soggy, if on any occasion you felt that your fish was burnt, we would have happily exchanged it and apologise for any inconvenience caused. You mentioned that you have been in our shop on several occasions, if you had spoken to the management, any issues could have been rectified.

Regards

Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Nom nom enough said friendly staff happy to accommodate different size portions full belly happy days

Thank howsonmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Y, Owner at Railway Street Fisheries, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Michelle thank you for finding the time to review our business, glad you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Not only a take away but you can sit in for fish and chips the owner sharron is lovely and you are made very welcome, best fish and chips in pocklington.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pindi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Y, Owner at Railway Street Fisheries, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for finding the time to review our business, it is really appreciated. Ourselves and all our staff strive to give the best possible customer care and produce.

Regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Railway Street Fisheries also viewed

Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Railway Street Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing