We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and welcoming”
other travellers have booked this property
Carpenter's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carpenter's Cottage
Comfy recliner sofa and underfloor heated quarry tiles Well-equipped kitchen and dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Carpenter's Cottage
Comfy recliner sofa and underfloor heated quarry tiles
Well-equipped kitchen and dining
Utility room with new washer/dryer
Bedroom with pretty stained glass window
View from bedroom to church
En suite bathroom
Cosy wood burning stove
Cottage private courtyard
Built in 1850 and beautifully renovated in 2010
Secure cycle store
Free use of shared garden
Help yourself to home grown herbs and veg
Our free range hens
York Minster - a short drive from Pocklington
Pocklington Arts Centre - a short stroll from the cottage
Burnby Hall Gardens - another short stroll from the cottage
Beautiful Yorkshire Wolds accessible by footpath from Pocklington
Kilnwick Percy Hall - a stunning walk from the cottage
Woodland walks at Kilnwick Percy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annie G
Crawley Down
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy and welcoming”
Reviewed 24 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

I had a very nice welcome from Patrick and Helen and was delighted with the provisions left including hens eggs freshly laid by Agnes, Gladys, Mavis and Phyllis

The cottage was extremely well appointed with bath and shower gels and various kitchen bits and bobs. This is not always the case in all rental properties. It was also very clean.

The cottage was ideally placed for the village and the church, where I was attending a wedding.

All in all a pleasure to stay here and would stay again and highly recommend to others

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2018
Thank you! We're so pleased that you had such a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome, style and comfort”
Reviewed 29 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The cottage has everything you'd need. Warm welcome from Helen and Patrick, a jug of flowers, gorgeous eggs from the hens. Self contained and private, but only five minutes from the town centre and with off road parking. Lovely little outside terrace area, and a beautiful garden. Comfy bed and great bed linen. We'll stay again, if we're tempted by another gig at the Arts Centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2018
Thank you! Great to meet you, and delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experienc...
1 review
“A little gem with perfect hosts”
Reviewed 26 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Just returned from an excellent three night stay in this beautifully furnished and equipped cottage. It was so spotless it looked as though we were the first guests to stay there. We loved the chairs hand crafted by Patrick, the hens (they lay great eggs with the biggest yolks we have ever eaten) and the kindness shown to us by both Helen and Patrick. The location is ideal to walk to Pocklington and the Burnby Hall Gardens where you can feed the fish which have the biggest mouths we have ever seen and stroke the tiny birds in the aviary. The scenic drive through the Wolds was a joy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2018
Thank you! It was lovely to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S
2 reviews
“magical !”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

my wife and I have just returned from an excellent mini stay at carpenters cottage.on arrival we found it spotless clean and very well facilitated.our hosts Helen and Patrick were very welcoming, pleasant ,and attentive.the cottage is ideally situated in the lovely market town of pocklington being only a short stroll to all the town has to offer ie shops,restaraunts, cafes, and pubs.a wide range of places to visit are only a short distance away either by car or bus,and burnam hall gardens is only a short walk away and well worth the visit.over the years we have visited many holiday cottages around the uk but non to better carpenters cottage, which is why we would have no hesitation in highly recommending this cottage. Roger and Christine mirfield west Yorks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2018
Thanks for such a great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim A
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect little hideaway for a couple, right in the heart of Pocklington”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

For a couple, Carpenters' Cottage is just perfect - you're right in the heart of town and yet once you're inside, you're in your own little world. Patrick and Helen are very friendly and for us they helped make a quick weekend stopover a real holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing