We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Fresh Fare with Great Service & Prices”

La Maria Cocina Peninsular
Ranked #1 of 163 Restaurants in Campeche
Description: In The Maria, we want to please your palate with te most representative dishes of the Yucatan Peninsula and let you feel the true flavor of México with our chef´s recipes.
Restaurant details
Description: In The Maria, we want to please your palate with te most representative dishes of the Yucatan Peninsula and let you feel the true flavor of México with our chef´s recipes.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Very happy to have discovered this place after reading other tripadvisor reviews. We wanted to avoid the tourist trap Calle 59 which is generally overpriced and NOT tasty! (Bar la Parilla) The menu was so good at Maria's it was hard to choose and very reasonable too. Im almost a vegetarian so I had a lot of option. All fresh locally sourced produce was clear after tasting the dishes we had. We had a yucatan taster plate, chai soup, kids fish and chips and lime soup. All delicious, The freshness of the food was fabulous. We're pretty hard to impress and this place did that. We wanted to go back but they were closed Tuesday and Weds so devastated..will have to go back next time. We loved the food so much we went to see the chef Enrique and discovered the restaurant is named after his mum and its a relatively new venture. Ahh. We love what he is doing and look forward to him expanding and maybe doing dinner (Serving times are 12 noon to 6pm at the moment but later at weekends up to 9pm. He is following the seasonal patterns of locally grown foods so top marks. Cannot wait to go back! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arobert2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique O, Gerente at La Maria Cocina Peninsular, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Wow! Such an amazing review, we feel honored to had you in our restaurant, people like you that take the time to talk about your experience in our restaurant had really help us to be the best option in Champeche for a local culinary experience. We have not enough words to thank you, you are the best! a warm gretting from all our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Delicious regional food at reasonable prices. Food was presented well and the service was attentive. Would eat here again and highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank dalymelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique O, Gerente at La Maria Cocina Peninsular, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you so much for your opinion, here at "La Maria" we appreciate every word that you dedicate to describe our establishment, we hope to see you soon back. Greetings from our team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Our meal here was superb, our favourite on the whole trip! The menu has classic Mexican dishes with a modern twist, and it was all freshly cooked. Everything we ordered was delicious.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank sophiew475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique O, Gerente at La Maria Cocina Peninsular, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

"La María" team want to thank you for your comment, we believe that you describe our mision as a restaurant, we want to be the best option in Campeche to try the real flavor of the peninsula. Best regards from all our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The best food I have tasted in Campeche, at a very good price.

The staff and the owner were extremely charming, giving us a excellent experience of the city and its people.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Pmolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique O, Gerente at La Maria Cocina Peninsular, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi there! We want to thank you for your comment, in our restaurant we seek the total satisfaction of our visitors, so we look forward to your visit in the future and thus achieve our goal. We send you a warm greeting from Campeche!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

La Maria Cocina Peninsular is a new restaurant just by the musical fountains off the main plaza in the old town. It's much more peaceful than the joints on Calle 59 and certainly more interesting. It was the only restaurant in Campeche where we ate more than once. Chef Enrique's cuisine is based on fresh, local ingredients with a twist and his spicing is exquisite. Enrique himself is a delightful host. We hope his courtyard bar is a success when it opens.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jocelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique O, Gerente at La Maria Cocina Peninsular, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Our restaurant always seeks to offer an unforgettable experience for our visitors, once we have read your comment there is no doubt that we have achieved that goal. There are not enough words to thank your time and your company in our restaurant, we really enjoy serving you. Receive a warm greeting from Campeche.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Maria Cocina Peninsular also viewed

Campeche, Campeche
 
Campeche, Campeche
Campeche, Campeche
 
Campeche, Campeche
 

Been to La Maria Cocina Peninsular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing