We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$60
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
10
12
7
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10
12
7
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews place to stay balcony christi monte receptionist
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

So happy with the experience! We were with a group that has been staying in small locally hotels similar to this property for the last 20 years. We don't like a large corporate experience and choose to stay in properties that are locally owned. The hotel is very low key. No frills! The prices were very reasonable from drinks at the bar to the food. We were the only non-Dominican's in the hotel so we felt immersed in the local culture. It is a popular place for Dominican middle class people to vacation. If you are looking for something fancy.... this is not the place. Stay in Puerto Plata or Punta Cana at an all inclusive if you want to be that pampered! If you are looking for a lot of tourist shopping, don't stay there. There are no gift shops in the area. If you are looking for a lot of people speaking other than Spanish, don't stay there. If you are looking to unplug and be around a lot of friendly people who work hard to earn your traveling money stay there. We had the same server and same maid the whole 9 days that we stayed there. There is no formal laundry service. However, if we put our dirty laundry on top of the bed, the maid did it for us a a nominal tip. We used Google Translate to help when our Spanish was not good enough to understand. Check-in and check-out went very smooth. We were given a discount for using cash! Be sure to ask or ocean view rooms. The hotel was built in the 1930's so the rooms are different sized. The bathrooms are clean but not fancy. Dominicans typically don't supply wash cloths or hand towels so if you need them bring your own. The rooms were clean and the AC worked great! The balcony of the room was roomy and private. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. There was a nice sized fridge with a small freezer for our day trip cooler packs. The staff did a great job of constantly cleaning the common areas of the hotel. If you don't like your room, just ask to change. The management was very easy to work with. There is a ocean view suite that is not much more. If it is available, it is worth it! The pool was clean and cool temperature. The beach next door to the hotel was a local Dominican favorite. The best beaches are a 5 minute drive away. Those beaches were so secluded that we were the only ones on the beach. There are 2 supermarkets in town just 5 minutes away. We rented a car which is the easiest way to get around. Taxi service is very limited in the area. There are no beach vendors and no one disturbing you at the beach. When you did not have Dominican Pesos, the locals did not try to gauge you on exchange rates and were fair. There are several places to eat nearby within walking distance including a pizza place run by an Italian guy. Great pizza! The CoCo Mar restaurant had good seafood and we even met the guy who snorkeled to catch our lobster earlier in the day. I would definitely go back again.

Room tip: Ask for an Ocean View room when you check in.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiro1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I stay one night in an awful place nearby: El Cayito Beach Resort (You should avoid that hotel). And went to this one, they were kind enough to let us check in at 9:00 am. Nice view, clean room. Nice little pool.

Room tip: If you can, Select a room with sea view. you wont regret it!
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WSoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

When you walk into the lobby you are tricked into thinking it's a nice hotel. The lobby is beautifully decorated and maintained. It has beautiful Dominican paintings. The receptionist was very nice. I can't say the same for all of the staff.

Rooms: Decent but too small for the furniture layout. We stayed in a double. We couldn't open the closet doors, because the bed was in the way. The rest was OK. We didn't have a fridge, although my sister did. She had an identical room. The AC worked fine. And yes there was a switch by the bed so you can turn it on in case of a power failure.

Bathrooms: Disgusting. I didn't even put my soap on the tub soap holder. Lots of broken parts. The shower head was loose. Poor water pressure and no hot water. You would lose pressure if the toilet was flushed while the sink or tub was running.

Dining: Only breakfast is good. Large portions and delicious. Dinner was OK. I wouldn't run back to have dinner. The service was hit and miss. We were there two nights. The first girl was rude. It seemed like we were a burden to her. The guy on the second night was accommodating and nice.
The restaurant was outside with a spectacular view of the ocean and El Morro. The restaurant itself was beautiful.

Pool: Not for adults. Can't even swim in it. It's more for kids. It was perfect for the kids in our group. Ages: 3, 5, and 12.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Yenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015

I used a new VIsa to secure this room through Hotels.com. They only take Visa so we used a card we seldom use. The next day, the credit card company alerted us to some bogus charges made that day. We ordered another card with a new number. We used the new card on this trip to pay for our hotel charges for our stay November 15-18. Today I was again notified by our credit card company that the card was charged a number of times in California for charges a week later that we did not make. Neither my husband nor I have used this card since we returned from the DR. Either a hotel employee is stealing credit card numbers or their system is not secure. I would not recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank panamajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The place is located in a beautiful spot in the northern cost of DR, all the way across the island from the capital Santo Domingo in the southern cost. The hotel is simple but well decorated. It's not an "all inclusive" so they charge room, not the persons, and the only thing included is the breakfast. Rooms occupy the three floors and there is no elevator. The restaurant is on first floor by the sea. It has two areas, one closer to the sea with iron furniture that can be uncomfortable to seat for long periods, although I spot one or two cushions, probably they have more. Also, the table is too low, so if your are taking your soup you might spill some on your cloth. The other area has wooden furniture and is more comfortable in every sense. There is a small pool with children side, and a bar next to it.
We got a room with sea view, and a balcony. King size bed, clean towels and sheets. Temperature of Air condition can't be control, just turned on and off from a switch next to the bed, something important to know because they have power supply shortages, like in most of the country, but don't have their own power plant like other big hotels. Rooms have cable tv and a little freezer.
The staff is very nice and young, they help you with any thing you need. This place would be perfect if it wasn't for the mosquitos at night. The employees said it wasn't like that all the time, nevertheless, they always have repellent at hand.

Room tip: Second and third floor rooms with balcony have better view. The one in the first floor with balcony is not private at all.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adcastiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews