We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballooning Canterbury - Hot Air Balloon Rides
Save
Review Highlights
Definitely a must-do at least once in your life!

My fiance and I booked on a ballooning tour for 2nd November 2018. We were blown away by the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
joannelailai
,
Singapore, Singapore
Worth the early start

The early start might put some people off but the whole experience is well worth worth it... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
stephencD6763TA
via mobile
Read all 290 reviews
  
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
278
9
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ballooning canterbury early start amazing experience launch site ground crew new zealand great pilot bucket list afraid of heights sun rising amazing morning southern alps an experience not to be missed amazing photos fun experience perfect weather once in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

This was an awesome experience, Michael the pilot and his team were brilliant, explained everything in detail, lots of photo opportunities, being a hands on experience added to the fun of it.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank trydanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

We were lucky to squeeze in a balloon flight on our NZ holiday. Our pilot Nick was great at pointing out things of interest and was happy to answer all questions fired at him. We were able to travel about 16km - quite a long way in ballooning terms. Both my husband and I enjoyed the everything about the experience including the hands on helping to set up and pack up the balloon. I would happily recommend this experience.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Becsnpieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We had a great ride made even better by the fun and friendly pilots and staff. They had lots of local knowledge too which made the trip even more interesting.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank MattW4887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Loved it, Michael the pilot was brilliant as is Regan in crew (and not just because he found my lost phone in a paddock of long grass...!). A must do and beautiful way to start the day, looking out in every direction of the South Island. Thank you & highly recommend.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

What a great flight.

An early start made sure we say the best of the day

Great team that looked after us and made us feel welcomed.

Flight was really peaceful with brilliant views. What a way to start the day.

We went in the middle of summer and will be back in winter to see the snow covered mountains from the air.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank GM007_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews