We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
$160
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
$120
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Richard B
Napier, New Zealand

Good motel in a nice friendly town

Review of Darfield Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Mar 2024
A really nice middle of the road motel in a friendly, neat and tidy town. There is an excellent cafe-bakery just a short walk down the road and a very good chinese food take away a little further west. The town is very central for exploring the Canterbury area and the motel rooms are well stocked and comfortable.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
5.1 km from Darfield Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Darfield Motel
大きいベッド
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Expedia.com
    $160
0.0 km from Darfield Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$171
  • Priceline
    $171
  • Expedia.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
    $171
22.2 km from Darfield Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $165
  • ZenHotels.com
22.8 km from Darfield Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$90
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $90
  • Vio.com
    $80
  • Expedia.com
    $91
22.4 km from Darfield Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $148
  • Hotels.com
24.1 km from Darfield Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
35.6 km from Darfield Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
34.2 km from Darfield Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Darfield
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
69
16
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
16
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great place to stay an overnight stay studio unit comfortable bed wedding units luxury host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2023

We had an overnight stay in Unit 14 - one of new "Luxury Spa Bath' units on the ground floor.
Comfortable bed. Adequate Heat Pump with very clear concise operating instruction card. Vg shower & spa bath. Good floor space for a studio unit.
There was a private outdoor sitting area in front of the unit,
The manager was helpful in recommending The Darfield Hotel, a 3 minute walk away. where we had an excellent Pub dinner.
There was a new bar / restaurant Grain & Grape across the road.
This was exceptional value at $160 for the night.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wally Murdoch, Owner at Darfield Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2023

Hi Jim,
Thank you for taking the time to post a great review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Darfield and look forward to seeing you back again soon take care,
Cheers Wally & Gaylyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2023

Stayed in studio unit - everything you would need is supplied, all extremely clean. Wally and Gaylyn were lovely helpful owners. In fact dropped us off at the wedding and then came back to pick us up for free. Can't thanked them enough for their hospitality. There were others in the Motel complex for the wedding and all agreed you couldn't ask for more.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JennyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

Great comfy room. The room was massive with lots of space. We also has a really nice spa bath that we used. Good instructions, easy to use and everything was nice and clean. The host was really friendly and gave us an awesome lunch recommendation of visiting the riverside market. We were in room 14 with the luxury spa bath unit.

Room tip: Heaps of easy parking
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank asilwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wally Murdoch, Owner at Darfield Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Hi,
Thank you for the great review, We are pleased you enjoyed your short trip into Christchurch and had lunch at the Riverside Market, Please be sure to call in again next time you are in he area
Cheers
Wally & Gaylyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2022

We made a last minute booking by telephoning Wally who is c highly experienced and very willing to provide as much assistance as he can. We were booked into Unit 10 (after checking out a different Unit) - this was our choice as it suited our needs better. Wally was really helpful with recommendations for places to eat, a fabulous bakery and directions. Thanks Wally, we will be back tomorrow night - will give you a call.

Room tip: All rooms are quiet from the look of it - lovely small town.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohans448
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wally Murdoch, Owner at Darfield Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2022

Hi and thank you for great review. We were pleased to see you enjoyed your stay in Darfield and hope to see you again in the near future,
Have a safe trip back to Sydney and take care
Cheers
Wally & Gaylyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2022

we pulled in here about 5.30 after a very long drive from Westport,(where we thought we were going to have to stay the night because of road closures). very accommodating and put us in a lovely unit which suited us perfectly, great shower and a comfortable bed..

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heathert972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wally Murdoch, Owner at Darfield Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2022

Thanks for the great review
Look forward to seeing you again next time you are heading to Darfield
Cheers
Wally & Gaylyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews