We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Surprise”
Review of Red Chilies

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Chilies
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Darfield
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 October 2017

An indian takeaway was quite a surprise for Darfield and even more surprising is just how good it is! We used to get Corianders every couple of weeks but haven't been there since Red Chillies opened up. Prices are reasonable with good portion sizes and we've never waiting more than 15 minutes. Keep up the great work :)

Worth pointing out that this is takeaway only, you can't dine in (this isn't a criticism, just a heads up as this is listed as a restaurant).

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ricky1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

The service is really good and they make the curry to your level of spiciness mild medium or hot and their garlic and cheese naan bread is yummy

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We went to this new takeaways over Easter and ordered 5 different dishes, plus Naan bread (Mango chicken, butter chicken, lamb tikka Marsala, chicken Korma & Chicken Madras) and it was all very delicious.I believe they have a new chef since opening, I hope the keep this one because I'll be back. Great eatery for Darfield

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

This is a new Takeaways, tucked away at the back side of a small mall. Efficient, fast and friendly.

We ordered the "classics" Butter Chicken and Lamb Vindaloo and (new for us) Prawn Jalfrezi.

All meals were very well cooked, just the right spices (and medium hot as per ordered). Chicken and Prawns as well very good, only drawback was the meat of the "lamb". While it was tender, it tasted more like meat from an uncastrated male animal in its prime (i.e. past the lamb stage ...). Only other explanation I would have is that they might have used some unusual spices to season the "lamb". Never had such "lamb" in my Vindaloo before.

Anyway - we might be in future a bit more careful with the lamb (but this well might have been an accident) but we certainly plan to come back for the chicken and the prawns.

Good stuff.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BlackPeter_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Chilies also viewed

Darfield, Canterbury Region
Darfield, Canterbury Region
 
Darfield, Canterbury Region
Darfield, Canterbury Region
 
Darfield, Canterbury Region
Darfield, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Red Chilies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing